Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Announces 5-Star Employee of the Year Recipients

March 14, 2017, 2:02 PM HST · Updated March 14, 2:04 PM
Nikki Schenfeld · 4 Comments

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua announced its Five-Star Employees for 2016 last week.

A total of 132 employees were nominated throughout 2016 with 16 quarterly winners who were considered for the Five-Star Employee of the Year recognition.

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua’s 2016 Five-Star Employees.
Photo Courtesy

The following were named Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua’s Five-Star Employees for 2016:

Michael Achay, Burger Shack
Elijah Agamata, Banquets
Daniel Amaya, In-room Dining
Brandon Bernades, Engineering
Ray Cairme, Housekeeping
Bethany Glend, Front Desk


“We are so proud of each of the winners and nominees,” said Mike Kass, General Manager of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua.  “Each one of them has truly earned this honor through their hard work and dedication. They exemplify our best and brightest talent and serve as an inspiration to all other Ladies and Gentlemen.”

The nominees and winners were celebrated at a gala event last week hosted by the hotel’s Executive Team with a five-star menu created by the resort’s award winning culinary team.

“These Ladies and Gentlemen are the best of the best,” said Executive Chef of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, Daniel Schmidt. “They deserve a first class experience befitting of their five star performance. It was our pleasure to be part of this very special evening honoring their accomplishments.”


The Five-Star Recognition program was created to celebrate and recognize employees that set the standard in their dedication to work, positive attitude and overall best in class performance.

The hotel also wishes to congratulate the nominees that also earned recognition in 2016:

David Bailey – Winner, Third Quarter
Mike Burman – Winner, Fourth Quarter Supervisor
Lani Clarion – Winner, Fourth Quarter
Aulani Delatori – Winner, Second Quarter
Welkens Duarosan – Winner, First Quarter
Fely Flores – Winner, First Quarter
Juilet Golaube – Winner, Fourth Quarter Leader
Jez Gonsalves – Winner, Second Quarter
Mayra Herrera – Winner, Second Quarter
Martha Macias – Winner, Third Quarter
Deanna Miller – Winner, Third Quarter Leader
Angela Miranda – Winner, Second Quarter Leader
Aaron Palone – Winner, Third Quarter Supervisor
Stephen Pedroza – Winner, Third Quarter
Rebecca Reither – Winner, Third Quarter
Wynne Simplot – Winner, First Quarter
James Stecker – Winner, First Quarter

Nikki Schenfeld
Nikki joined the Maui Now team in 2016 as a writer/reporter. Originally from Chicago, she has had internships with CBS2 Chicago and Comcast SportsNet Chicago where she had the opportunity to interview some of Chicago's best athletes. She graduated from Columbia College Chicago in 2010 with a Bachelor's degree in Broadcast Journalism. She moved to Maui in 2013.

Scroll Down to Read 4 Comments



Share this Article

Weekly Newsletter

View Comments