Mauian in Running for 2014 Hawaii Teacher of the Year

October 22, 2013, 2:35 PM HST · Updated October 22, 3:14 PM

Pāʻia School, file photo by Wendy Osher.

Pāʻia School. File photo by Wendy Osher.

By Wendy Osher

Maui’s Anthony Williams, a teacher at Pāʻia Elementary School, is one of seven District Teachers of the Year being considered for the statewide 2014 Teacher of the Year honor.

A winner will be named at a recognition event scheduled to take place at 3 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 25 at Washington Place.

Other District Teachers of the Year from across the state include Teresa Cramer of Hale Kula Elementary in the Central Oʻahu District; Dayna Hironaka of Kahaluʻu Elementary in the Windward Oʻahu District; Matthew Lawrence of Waikiki Elementary in the Honolulu District; Elizabeth Timbal of Keaʻau High in the Hawaiʻi District; Terra Wight of Nānākuli High and Intermediate in the Leeward Oʻahu District; and Justin Yamagata of Waimea Canyon Middle School in the Kauaʻi District.


All seven District Teachers of the Year will receive a monetary award from program corporate sponsor, the Polynesian Cultural Center; and gifts of instructional software from SMART Technologies.

The person selected as State Teacher of the Year will receive a free one-year lease on a new car from the Hawaiʻi Automobile Dealers’ Association, as well as other classroom technology and gifts.

Among those in attendance will be Governor Neil Abercrombie, and Hawaiʻi Schools Superintendent Kathryn Matayoshi.



Share this Article

Sign up to receive important news alerts like tsunami warnings,
floods, traffic accidents, road closures and more.
Phone # (xxx-xxx-xxxx):

    View Categories
    Promote Your Maui Business for Free Add Your Listing

    Weekly Newsletter

    View Comments