2019 Paniolo Hall of Fame Includes 7 Maui Honorees

November 5, 2019, 10:20 AM HST · Updated November 5, 9:29 AM

The Paniolo Hall of Fame will announce the induction of 11 new members of the Paniolo Hall of Fame at a banquet and ceremony during the Hawaiʻi Cattlemen’s Council Annual Convention set to take place at the Waikoloa Beach Marriot Resort & Spa, on Saturday Nov. 16, 2019 at 12:30 p.m.

Seven of the 11 inductees are tied to cattle ranches in Maui County that include: Haleakalā Ranch, Molokaʻi Ranch, Maui Cattle Company, ʻUlupalakua Ranch, Kaonoulu Ranch and Kaupō Ranch.

The complete list of 2019 inductees is posted below:


    Harriet “Haku” Baldwin
    Haleakalā Ranch, Maui


    James Kaleima’ema’e “Palaika” Brighter
    Molokaʻi Ranch, Parker Ranch, Molokaʻi & Hawaiʻi

    Alex B. Franco
    Maui Cattle Company, Maui

    James A. Gomes
    ʻUlupalakua Ranch, Maui

    Adam Scott Hai Sr.
    Kaupō Ranch, Kahuā Ranch, Maui & Oʻahu

    Ephraim Palaima Hai
    Kahuā Ranch, Oʻahu

    Merton G. Kekiwi
    Kaonoulu Ranch, ʻUlupalakua Ranch, Maui

    John Kalaniopuʻu “John Samoa” Lekelesa
    Parker Ranch, Hawaiʻi

    Michael N. Purdy Sr.
    ʻUlupalakua Ranch, Maui

    Clarence Stanley Rapoza
    Palani Ranch Co., Lanihau Ranch, Hawaiʻi

    Richard M. Schultz II
    Honomalino Ranch, Daleico Ranch, Hawaiʻi

    For more information on each of this year’s inductees, please visit the Paniolo Hall of Fame Web site https://www.hicattle.org/paniolo-hall-of-fame

    The members of the Paniolo Hall of Fame are among the generations of Hawaiʻi cowboys who have stood out in their contributions to cattle ranching throughout all the islands. While the cattle industry is still very much alive and well in Hawaiʻi today, the paniolo have become a legendary and celebrated part of Hawaiʻi’s present-day culture.

    The Paniolo Hall of Fame was initiated by the Oʻahu Cattlemen’s Association in 1999 to recognize yesterday’s and today’s paniolo statewide, and with every island represented, who have contributed to keeping Hawaiʻi’s paniolo heritage alive and to honor those who made the paniolo culture legendary.

    With the induction of the 2019 inductees in its 20th year, the hall of fame now includes 157 members statewide, both living and deceased.

    The Paniolo Hall of Fame consists of photo portraits, short biographies and oral history interviews. The portrait exhibit has been on display at Honolulu Hale (City Hall), at the Annual Statewide Paniolo Festival, at the Hawaiʻi Cattlemen’s Council annual meeting, at Parker Ranch Museum, the Hawaii State Library and numerous events and venues on all the islands.

    It continues to circulate to various locations statewide and may be requested for display by contacting the Paniolo Hall of Fame. The Paniolo Hall of Fame is on permanent display at the Paniolo Preservation Society’s museum at Pukalani Stables, Waimea Hawaiʻi.

    The Paniolo Hall of Fame Oral History project presently consists of 72 completed interviews with living Paniolo Hall of Fame members. This project strives to capture and record as many life stories before they are lost to future generations and are aided by the contributions from business, individuals and foundations to make this project possible.

    The published interviews are available for purchase from the Paniolo Hall of Fame, and are also accessible through the Hawaiʻi State Library System and are on-line.

    The Paniolo Hall of Fame is grateful for the cooperation of the many paniolo scattered throughout these islands, their families, and the many sponsors big and small, who have made the Paniolo Hall of Fame possible.

    For more information about the Paniolo Hall of Fame, or to view the inductees photos and biographies visit: https://www.hicattle.org/paniolo-hall-of-fame

    2018 Paniolo Hall of Fame banquet honorees. PC: Paniolo Hall of Fame.

    Haku Baldwin. PC: Paniolo Hall of Fame.

    John “Samoa” Lekelesa. PC: Paniolo Hall of Fame.

    Merton Kekiwi. PC: Paniolo Hall of Fame.

    Alex Franco. PC: Paniolo Hall of Fame.

    Adam Scott Hai Sr. PC: Paniolo Hall of Fame.

    Richard “Dick” Schultz II. PC: Paniolo Hall of Fame.

    Clarence Rapoza. PC: Paniolo Hall of Fame.

    Ephraim Hai. PC: Paniolo Hall of Fame.

    James “Palaika” Brighter. PC: Paniolo Hall of Fame.

    Michael Purdy Sr. PC: Paniolo Hall of Fame.

    Jimmy Gomes. PC: Paniolo Hall of Fame.

    2018 Paniolo Hall of Fame banquet. PC: Paniolo Hall of Fame.


    Share this Article

      View Categories
      Promote Your Maui Business for Free Add Your Listing

      Weekly Newsletter

      This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion.

      I Understand, Show Comments