Maui News

House Leadership, Committee Chairs for 2021 Legislative Session

Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Photo credit: Hawaii House Democrats

Speaker Scott K. Saiki announced the House leadership and committee chair assignments for the 2021 legislative session that will convene on Wednesday, Jan. 20, 2021:

2021 – 2022


  • Speaker:  Scott K. Saiki
  • Vice Speaker:  John M. Mizuno
  • Majority Leader: Della Au Belatti
  • Majority Floor Leader: Dee Morikawa

Committee Chairs

  • Agriculture:  Mark J. Hashem
  • Consumer Protection and Commerce:  Aaron Ling Johanson
  • Corrections, Military, and Veterans:  Takashi Ohno
  • Culture and Arts:  Cedric Asuega Gates
  • Economic Development:  Sean Quinlan
  • Education:  Justin H. Woodson
  • Energy and Environmental Protection: Nicole E. Lowen
  • Finance:  Sylvia Luke
  • Government Reform:  Angus L.K. McKelvey
  • Health, Human Services, and Homelessness:  Ryan I. Yamane
  • Higher Education and Technology:  Gregg Takayama
  • Housing:  Nadine K. Nakamura
  • Judiciary and Hawaiian Affairs:  Mark M. Nakashima
  • Labor and Tourism:  Richard H.K. Onishi
  • Legislative Management:  Dale T. Kobayashi
  • Pandemic and Disaster Preparedness:  Linda Ichiyama
  • Transportation:  Henry J.C. Aquino
  • Water and Land:  David A. Tarnas

The House will complete the assignments to include the appointment of committee vice chairs and committee members soon.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing
Make the most of your Maui vacation with these top-rated activities: Maui Top 20: Maui Visitor & Tourism Information


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments