Maui    News & Information Hub
HEADLINE NEWS Weekly Newsletter
News

Maui Holds Remembrance on 10th Anniversary of 9/11

Share |
   September 10th, 2011 · No Disqus Comments · Maui News

By Wendy Osher

File photo by Wendy Osher.

***Check back for video and photos from the Maui observance.

Maui joins the rest of the nation in remembrance of the lives lost and the unity going forward on the 10th anniversary of terrorist attacks on US soil.

Maui Mayor Alan Arakawa is asking that the entire county observe a moment of silence at 7 a.m. on Sunday, September 11, 2011.

This coincides with the Moment of Remembrance going on nationally, at 1 p.m. EDT, noon, CDT, 11 a.m. MDT and 10 a.m. PDT.

Mayor Arakawa issued a proclamation which states, “a decade later, we are still waging war against those who would attack and kill the innocent.”

The document further remembers those who have laid down their lives in the name of security and freedom especially to those lost in Maui County including:  Army Pfc. Charlie Antonio, 29; Army Sgt. 1st Class Kelly Bolor, 37; Army Pfc. Jay Cajimat, 20; Army Pfc. Eugene Kanakaole, 19; Army Spc. Christopher P. Sweet, 28; and Navy Senior Chief Petty Officer Kraig Vickers, 36.

Governor Neil Abercrombie also ordered that all Hawai’i flags at all state offices and agencies as well as the Hawai‘i National Guard be flown at half-staff alongside US flags from sunrise to sunset. President Barack Obama ordered all US flags to be flown at half-staff in observance of Patriot Day and National Day of Service and Remembrance.

The presidential proclamation states, “I call upon the people of the United States to participate in community service in honor of those our nation lost, to observe this day with appropriate ceremonies and activities, including remembrance services, and to observe a moment of silence beginning at 8:46 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time to honor the innocent victims who perished as a result of the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001.”

Sign Up To Our Weekly Newsletter 0 Disqus Comments
    Recommend This Article
    Related Stories

    Tags

    Comments
Editor's Note:Maui Now is an open forum and we welcome any views. However, please apply your sense of aloha when posting comments - remarks that are unnecessarily offensive will be blocked.

 
By publishing a comment, you are acknowledging that you are personally responsible for its contents.