Eroding WAC eyes three new members

November 10, 2010, 7:17 AM HST · Updated November 10, 7:17 AM

By Fred Guzman

The WAC could have a new look as early as this week, with multiple media reports indicating the impending additions of three new members — Texas-San Antonio, Texas State and Denver.

The additions of Texas-San Antonio and Texas State in most sports plus Denver as a non-football member would give the WAC nine basketball and eight football members for the 2012-13 season.

They would replace Fresno State and Nevada, who are scheduled to leave the WAC in June 2012. Boise State departs this summer.


So far, six schools have remained committed to the WAC, including the Hawaii. The others: San Jose State, Utah State, New Mexico State, Idaho and Louisiana Tech.

The WAC accelerated expansion plans in an effort to have eight members, the NCAA minimum, for 2012-13, and to answer membership questions heading into the upcoming recruiting period.

The WAC also is awaiting word from Montana. Seattle University also has been under consideration as a non-football member.

UTSA, Texas State and Montana are not members of the Football Bowl Subdivision – previously known as Divison-I-A.

But if the schools address various minimum requirements, including the addition of 22 more football scholarships, they could be qualify for the higher classification for the 2012 football season.


Share this Article

    View Categories
    Promote Your Maui Business for Free Add Your Listing

    Weekly Newsletter

    This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion.

    I Understand, Show Comments