Four Student-Athletes from Maui County Recognized by HMSA

June 16, 2012, 7:29 PM HST · Updated June 18, 7:02 AM

From left, Charisse Manley (Molokai High School), Cheyenne Kamaleionalani Pico (Hana), Joni Lynne Sanchez Casio (King Kekaulike) and Steve Van Ribbink (HMSA). Missing from photo is Taylor Hori of Seabury Hall. Photo by HMSA.

Rodney S. Yap

Maui County students took top honors today at the HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program Ceremony at the Hawaii Prince Hotel in Waikiki.

Four outstanding students from the Maui Interscholastic League were honored with $3,000 scholarships. They were Cheyenne Pico of Hana High School, Taylor Hori of Seabury Hall, Charisse L. Manley of Molokai, and Joni Lynne Sanchez Casio of King Kekaulike.  Pico was also recognized as a distinguished scholar and was given an additional $2,000 for school.

The top scoring schools from the Maui Interscholastic League were Baldwin and Maui Preparatory Academy, each receiving  checks for $1,500.

“The HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program is the only program in the state that rewards academics and athletics as well as sportsmanship and community service,” said Robert P. Hiam, HMSA’s chief executive officer, before more than 200 school principals, athletic directors, and student athletes and their family members.


The program recognizes all-around accomplishments by high schools, rewards individual student athletes with scholarships, and supports coaches education. The program, which started in 2005, is sponsored by HMSA and administered by the Hawaii High School Athletic Association.

In all, 22 students received scholarships worth $3,000. Five of those students were named distinguished scholars and received an additional $2,000 each. The program awarded more than $90,000 to Hawaii high schools and outstanding student athletes.

“The drive and dedication demonstrated by these young athletes is inspirational, as is the support they get from their schools. HMSA is honored to have this chance to recognize them for their accomplishments,” Hiam said.

Thirty high schools were recognized for achieving the highest program scores in their league and division in athletics, academics, sportsmanship, and community service. The 10 highest scoring schools received a check for $1,500.

The keynote address was presented by Norm Chow, head football coach at University of Hawaii. Longtime UH sports broadcaster Jim Leahey and KHON2 Sports Director Kanoa Leahey emceed the awards luncheon. Guest presenters included Fred Guzman of Pacific Radio Group’s ESPN-AM Radio; Josh Pacheco of ESPN Radio; Dave Reardon of the Honolulu Star-Advertiser; Steve Uyehara, news anchor with Hawaii News Now; and Dave Vinton, director of Sports Programming for OC-16.

HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program

2012 Winning High Schools 

Big Island Interscholastic Federation
 Division I
1stWaiakea High School
2ndKealakehe High School
3rdHilo High School
Division II
1stHualalai Academy
2ndKohala High School
3rdHawaii Preparatory Academy
Maui Interscholastic League
Division 1
1stBaldwin High School
2ndKamehameha Schools Maui
3rdKing Kekaulike High School
Division 2
1stMaui Preparatory Academy
2ndSt. Anthony High School
3rdSeabury Hall
Kauai Interscholastic Federation
1stIsland School
2ndKapaa High School
3rdWaimea High School
Oahu Interscholastic Association
Red Division
1stMoanalua High School
2ndKapolei High School
3rdWaipahu High School
Blue Division
1stKaiser High School
2ndKahuku High School
3rdRadford High School
White Division
1stKalani High School
2ndAiea High School
3rdMcKinley High School
Interscholastic League of Honolulu
Division 1
1stMid-Pacific Institute
2ndSacred Hearts Academy
3rdIolani School
Division 2
1stHawaii Baptist Academy
2ndChristian Academy
3rdUniversity High School

HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program

2012 Student Scholarship Winners

Distinguished Scholarship Recipients:

Erin M. Carvalho, Kamehameha Schools Hawaii

Lauren Claypoole, Island School

Penina Lima, Kapolei High School

Charisse L. Manley, Molokai High School

Cheyenne K. Pico, Hana High School

Big Island Interscholastic Federation (BIIF) Scholarship Recipients:

Erin M. Carvalho, Kamehameha Schools Hawaii

Camille R. Ricketts, Konawaena High School

Trevor T. Yamagata, Konawaena High School

Interscholastic League of Honolulu (ILH) Scholarship Recipients:

Max P. Castanera, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama

Samantha J. Dacanay, Iolani School

Megan P. Herndon, Punahou School

Kalei R. Hosaka, Hawaii Baptist Academy

Leahna M. Luke, Iolani School

Siena Simmons, Iolani School

Kauai Interscholastic Federation (KIF) Scholarship Recipients:

Kimberly V. Aguilar, Waimea High School

Garrett J. Beyer, Island School

Lauren Claypoole, Island School

Maui Interscholastic League (MIL) Scholarship Recipients:

Taylor M. Hori, Seabury Hall

Charisse L. Manley, Molokai High School

Cheyenne K. Pico, Hana High School

Joni Lynne M. Sanchez Casio, King Kekaulike High School

Oahu Interscholastic Association (OIA) Scholarship Recipients:

Heather Higashi, Mililani High School

Shayna M. Hokama, Mililani High School

Caitlin K. Hooker, Kailua High School

Travis P. Lefrandt, Moanalua High School

Penina Lima, Kapolei High School

Sara A. McAllaster, Kalaheo High School



Share this Article

Sign up to receive important news alerts like tsunami warnings,
floods, traffic accidents, road closures and more.
Phone # (xxx-xxx-xxxx):

    View Categories
    Promote Your Maui Business for Free Add Your Listing

    Weekly Newsletter

    This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion.

    I Understand, Show Comments