Maui Business

Ka Ipu Kukui Maui Leadership Program Selects 2016 Fellows

August 6, 2015, 3:48 PM HST
* Updated August 6, 3:49 PM
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

KIK 2016_Press Release1-crop

By Maui Now Staff

The Ka Ipu Kukui Fellows enters into its ninth year by welcoming 14 new fellows into the 2016 cohort on Aug. 11, 2015.

The program was established to develop the future leadership of Maui Nui.

Attending from across the county, including the Neighbor Island of Lāna‘i, the current fellows represent a diverse cross section of Maui County’s nonprofit organizations, and public and private sector.


The 14 fellows were selected through a competitive process conducted by the members of the Ka Ipu Kukui steering committee.


The 2016 fellows are Mondale Agcaoili, Bryan Berkowitz, Hilary Bingman, Jennifer Cox, Jessica Crouse, Devin Fredericksen, Tegan Hammond, Tracy Kealoha, Kelly McHugh, Mandy Saito, Marina Sataofaiga, Megan Morrow, Nohelani Uu and Marinel Yumol.

Nearly 100 accomplished professionals have graduated from the program, continuing on to provide a larger impact in their organizations and the greater community. After eight successful years, the fellowship plans to make the next session even more enriching.

“We have incorporated input and suggestions from the fellows and steering committee members—of which previous fellows are involved—to continuously improve the program,” said Dr. Lori Teragawachi, program director.


A Decisions Maui and Focus Maui Nui initiative, the Ka Ipu Kukui Fellows is a yearlong program that develops leaders by looking both outward at the greater challenges affecting the community, and inward through assessment of and development of personal leadership style. Through this deeper evaluation, fellows sharpen there skills in identifying and overcoming challenges.

“Maui Nui occupies a special place in the state, country and world, but as all of us know, we face many challenges that could very well erode the unique splendor of these special islands,” said Scott Nunokawa, Ka Ipu Kukui steering committee member.

From concerns and beliefs expressed first by Decisions Maui in the 1980s and reinforced by the 2003 Focus Maui Nui visioning process, the Ka Ipu Kukui Fellows program was conceived to provide significant help in identifying and training leaders through a community-based program specifically designed to address all aspects of planning for Maui Nui’s future.

The program requires active monthly participation during the next year.

Steering committee members include Roselle Bailey, Alix Buchter, Susan Clements, Pualani Enos, Yarrow Flower, Jordan Hart, Troy Hashimoto, Sarah McLane, Scott Nunokawa, Stanley Okamoto, Leilani Pulmano, Clyde Sakamoto, Jeanne Skog, Lori Teragawachi and Lianne Yoshida.

Advisory members are Gladys Baisa, Rhiannon Chandler, Scott Fisher, Rory Frampton and Kalani Ho-Nikaido.

If you are interested in this program or would like to nominate someone, go online or call Teragawachi at 344-3181.

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments