Maui HS Earns Top 4 Spot in 24th Hawai‘i Science Bowl

February 7, 2017, 9:16 AM HST · Updated February 7, 2:53 PM

MAUI High School team pictired. Punahou School – Team 1 will represent Hawai‘i at the National Science Bowl® competition held near Washington D.C. from April 27– May 1, 2017. Rounding out the top four teams were McKinley High School, Punahou School – Team 2, and Maui High School.

From a competitive field of 20 teams from 14 high schools statewide, Punahou School garnered the championship title at the 24th Hawai‘i Science Bowl on Jan.0 28 at the Honolulu Community College.

Punahou will move on to represent Hawai‘i at the National Science Bowl® competition, April 27 to May 1, 2017 in Washington, DC.

Rounding out the top teams were McKinley High School, Maui High School, Kealakehe High School, ‘Iolani School, Hilo High School and Kalani High School.

More than 100 students competed for an all-expense paid trip to the national competition in Washington D.C. As America’s largest and most prestigious science competition for high school students, the National Science Bowl® hosts more than 14,000 students nationwide each year. The teams faced off in a fast-paced question and answer format similar to the TV game show Jeopardy, being tested on a range of science disciplines including biology, chemistry, earth science, physics, energy, and math.


Punahou’s winning team consisted of Team Captain Conrad Newfield, Anna Kimata, Deborah Wen, Andrew Winnicki, and John Winnicki. Coached by instructor Warren Huelsnitz, the team will also receive team jackets and their science department will receive $500.

As second place, McKinley High School team will receive an all-expense paid neighbor island science trip and a $400 cash award for their science department. Third place Punahou – Team 2 earned a $300 cash award, and fourth place Maui High School secured a $200 cash award for their respective science departments.

Event quarterfinalists Kealakehe, ‘Iolani, Hilo and Kalani – Team 1 each earned $100 for their school’s science departments, respectively. Waimea High School won the Wild Card competition and received a $75 cash award for their science department.

“Congratulations to all of our competitors who demonstrated effective team work, steadfast dedication and practical problem solving,” said Steve Golden, President of the Hawai‘i Science Bowl executive committee. “Mahalo also to the coaches, volunteers, and sponsors who support this event year after year, and help to foster this stepping stone for our Hawai‘i youth to excel and further their STEM education.”

The National Science Bowl® is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy. The Hawai’i Science Bowl is co-sponsored by: HAWAI’IGAS, Hawai‘i Electric Light Company; Hawaiian Electric Company; Hawaiian Telcom; Honolulu Community College; Maui Electric Company; Pacific Center for Advanced Technology Training; State of Hawai‘i Department of Education; U.S. Coast Guard; U.S. Department of Energy; and Hawai‘i Alpha Delta Kappa.



Share this Article

Sign up to receive important news alerts like tsunami warnings,
floods, traffic accidents, road closures and more.
Phone # (xxx-xxx-xxxx):

Weekly Newsletter

View Comments