Maui Discussion

Ask the Mayor: Who Appoints Liquor Control Commission Members?

July 17, 2017, 7:40 AM HST
* Updated July 17, 7:55 AM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Glenn Mukai us the current Maui County Liquor Commissioner. Maui County photo.

Mayor Alan Arakawa answers some of the questions submitted to his staff.

Submit your own questions about County of Maui programs, services, operations or policies to Mayor Alan Arakawa at [email protected], 270-7855 or mail them to 200 S. High St., 9th Floor, Wailuku, HI 96793.

Questions submitted will be considered for inclusion in the “Ask the Mayor” column.

Dear Mayor Arakawa,

Q: Who appoints the members of the Liquor Control Commission, how long do they serve and what are their qualifications for appointment?


A: As mayor, I am tasked with nominating individuals to serve on the commission, and the County Council confirms or rejects my nominees. Terms are for five years, with no required criteria other than being 18 years old and a County of Maui resident and U.S. citizen.

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments