Maui Business

Hawai‘i State FCU Announces Scholarship Winners

July 17, 2018, 10:34 AM HST
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Hawai‘i State Federal Credit Union (Hawai‘i State FCU) has announced the 20 student recipients of its Lowell Kalapa Scholarship Program who received a combined $40,000 toward tuition at a university, college or trade school. This year marked an increase of five additional recipients who received a scholarship of $2,000 each.

Twelve of the 20 recipients will continue their education in Hawai‘i, while the remaining eight will attend schools across the U.S. Fourteen students are pursuing their undergraduate degree in various fields, including engineering, business, journalism and nursing, while four students are completing graduate studies in medicine, education and law.

The 2018 Lowell Kalapa Scholarship recipients are:

  • Chasyn Aipoalani, University of Portland
  • Elijah Bernardo-Flores, Chaminade University
  • Tara Correa, Honolulu Community College
  • Noah Cosson, Santa Clara University
  • Dylan De Pretto, Kapiolani Community College
  • Leanne Dunn, University of Hawai‘i at Hilo
  • Caylee Honda, University of Pennsylvania
  • Devan Iyomasa, Gonzaga University
  • Titus Kaleikini, University of Hawai‘i at Manoa
  • Tiare Kaopua, University of Southern California
  • Allyson Kuwana, University of San Francisco
  • Aaron Lieu, University of Hawai‘i at Manoa
  • Seika Matsuda, Kapiolani Community College
  • Dana Morita, University of Hawai‘i at Manoa
  • Wendy Naruse, Leeward Community College
  • Alana Nuuanu, University of Hawai‘i at West Oahu
  • Christina Pedro, Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Bryson Shishido, California Polytechnic State University
  • Brandon Veles, University of Hawai‘i at Manoa
  • Ciara Welch, University of Hawai‘i at Manoa

“We were happy to be able to increase funding in 2018 to provide more students the much- needed financing to help offset their educational expenses,” said Andrew Rosen, president and CEO of Hawai‘i State FCU. “Supporting education and investing in Hawaii’s youth have always been important to us, and we wish these 20 students the best as they strive to reach their dreams.”

Named for the late Lowell Kalapa, former president of the Tax Foundation of Hawai‘i and a formerHawai‘i State FCU board member, Hawaii State FCU’s scholarship program has awarded more than$600,000 since 1996 to help students pursue their higher-education goals.


For more information, visit

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments