Maui Arts & Entertainment

2019 Nā Hōkū Hanohano Results

Listen to this Article
3 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

The biggest names in Hawai‘i’s music industry gathered to celebrate one another’s accomplishments  at this year’s 42nd Annual Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards.

The event honored the state’s top musicians, songwriters, composers and producers in 36 different categories.

Among the recipients, Mark Yamanaka took home five awards for his album Lei Lehua, including Album of the Year, Island Music Album of the Year, Song of the Year, Single of the Year and Male Vocalist of the Year.

1,500 guests attended the event, posing on the red carpet and enjoying an evening of music by island icons including Keali‘i Reichel, Henry Kapono, Kalani Pe‘a, Anuhea, Keauhou, Kimie and more.


A full list of this year’s Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards recipients include:

ALBUM OF THE YEAR: “Lei Lehua,” Mark Yamanaka (Hula Kūpuna Productions) Mark Yamanaka and Kellen Paik, producers
EP (“EXTENDED PLAY”) OF THE YEAR: “Keoni Ku,” Keoni Ku (Tribal Treble Records)
HAWAIIAN EP (“EXTENDED PLAY”) RELEASE OF THE YEAR: “He Lani Ko Luna, He Honua Ko Lalo,” Institute of Hawaiian Music UH Maui College (Institute of Hawaiian Music) Keola Donaghy and Joel Katz, producers
SINGLE OF THE YEAR: “Morning Drive,” Mark Yamanaka (Hula Kūpuna Productions)
HAWAIIAN SINGLE OF THE YEAR: “He Aloha Waiau,” Waipuna (Poki Records)
SONG OF THE YEAR: “Lei Lehua,” Mark Yamanaka and Kalikolīhau Paik from Lei Lehua, Mark Yamanaka (Hula Kūpuna Productions)
INSTRUMENTAL COMPOSITION (Composer’s Award): “Life Is,” Kris Fuchigami from Life Is (no label)
MUSIC VIDEO OF THE YEAR: “Waikalua,” Keauhou (Keauhou)
FEMALE VOCALIST OF THE YEAR: Anuhea for Follow Me: Deluxe Hawaii Edition (Sono Record Group/AnuheaJams)
MALE VOCALIST OF THE YEAR: Mark Yamanaka for Lei Lehua (Hula Kūpuna Productions)
GROUP OF THE YEAR: Nā Hoa for Aloha from Nā Hoa (NH Records)
MOST PROMISING ARTIST OF THE YEAR: Nā Wai ‘Ehā for Nā Wai ‘Ehā (NWE Records)

ALTERNATIVE ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Process of, The, Sean Cleland (Sean Cleland Music, LLC)
ANTHOLOGY OF THE YEAR (Producer’s Award): Kalapana: The Original Album Collection, Kalapana (Manifesto) Dan Perloff, producer
COMPILATION ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Songs of C&K, The, Various Artists (Kapono Records) Henry Kapono, First Hawaiian Bank, and Lezlee Kaaihue, producers
CONTEMPORARY ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Beautiful Day, Na Leo (NLP Music, Inc.)
CONTEMPORARY ACOUSTIC ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Ukulele Sunshine, Papa Ray (no label)
HAWAIIAN MUSIC ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Aloha From Nā Hoa, Nā Hoa (NH Records)
HAWAIIAN SLACK KEY ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Marketplace, Cyril Pahinui (Pahinui Productions
HIP HOP ALBUM OF THE YEAR: From Beneath Mt. Ka‘ala, Punahele (no label)
INSTRUMENTAL ALBUM OF THE YEAR: ‘Ukulele Hula, Herb Ohta, Jr. (Neos Productions)
ISLAND MUSIC ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Lei Lehua, Mark Yamanaka (Hula Kūpuna Productions)
JAZZ ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Ton of Trouble, A, Maggie Herron (Herron Song Records)
METAL ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Jekyll & Hyde, Storm (Tin Idol Productions)
R&B ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Have Fun, Karlie G (Karlie Goya)
REGGAE ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Ekolu Music 3: For Hawai‘i, Ekolu (Waiehu Records)
RELIGIOUS ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Nā Mele Pule. Kenneth Makuakāne (KM Music)
ROCK ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Giant, Deborah Vial Band (North Shore Record Company)


HAKU MELE AWARD (Composer’s Award): “No Ānela ‘Uilani, He Inoa,” Zachary Alaka‘i Lum, from Ua Kō, Ua ‘Āina, Keauhou (Keauhou)
HAWAIIAN LANGUAGE PERFORMANCE AWARD: Keauhou for Ua Kō, Ua ‘Āina, Keauhou (Keauhou)
ENGINEERING AWARD, GENERAL: Allan Thomas for Two Sides to Every Story, Allan Thomas (Black Bamboo Recordings)
ENGINEERING AWARD, HAWAIIAN: Wendell Ching and Sean Na‘auao for Nā Keiki O Hawai‘i, Sean Na‘auao (Maliona Records)
GRAPHICS AWARD: Clarence Lee Design for Ola, Tsutomu Nakai (Wa Taiko THR Inc.)
LINER NOTES AWARD: Chelle Pahinui and Ilihia Gionsion for Marketplace, Cyril Pahinui (Pahinui Productions)


“It is really such an incredible honor for us to have Hawai‘i’s talented artists and the supportive community coming together for one special and unforgettable evening, sharing our island’s unique music and culture,” said Pali Ka‘aihue, president of the Hawai‘i Academy of Recording Arts.

“On behalf of Hawai‘i’s tourism industry, HTA is proud to sponsor an event that embodies everything that Hawai‘i stands for. It’s a great event for the community and we congratulate all of tonight’s winners,” said Karen Hughes, Hawai‘i Tourism Authority vice president of marketing & product development.

Hosted by the Hawaiʻi Academy of Recording Arts and presented by Hawaiʻi Tourism, the 42nd Annual Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards celebrates the accomplishments and talents of Hawaiʻi’s music industry. Funding support by Hawai‘i Tourism is being provided largely in part by money generated from visitors to the Hawaiian Islands through the Transient Accommodations Tax (TAT).


The Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards is one of Mele Mei’s 2019 signature events. Mele Mei, which translates to “May Hawaiian Music Month,” features a number of musical performances throughout the Hawaiian Islands. The celebration provides both residents and visitors from around the world a chance to immerse themselves in the islands’ local music and culture. This year’s schedule of performances will take place at various hotels and venues statewide and feature entertainment from ʻukulele and steel guitar to traditional Hawaiian music and hula.

FEMALE VOCALIST OF THE YEAR: Anuhea for Follow Me: Deluxe Hawaii Edition (Sono Record Group/AnuheaJams) PC: Mele Mei

MOST PROMISING ARTIST OF THE YEAR: Nā Wai ‘Ehā for Nā Wai ‘Ehā (NWE Records). PC: Mele Mei

GROUP OF THE YEAR: Nā Hoa for Aloha from Nā Hoa (NH Records); and HAWAIIAN MUSIC ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Aloha From Nā Hoa, Nā Hoa (NH Records). PC: Mele Mei

42nd Annual Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards performers. PC: Mele Mei

PC: Mele Mei

Ekolu. PC: Mele Mei

MOST PROMISING ARTIST OF THE YEAR: Nā Wai ‘Ehā for Nā Wai ‘Ehā (NWE Records). PC: Mele Mei

MOST PROMISING ARTIST OF THE YEAR: Nā Wai ‘Ehā for Nā Wai ‘Ehā (NWE Records). PC: Mele Mei

CONTEMPORARY ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Beautiful Day, Na Leo (NLP Music, Inc.) PC: Mele Mei

PC: Mele Mei

Jeff Peterson and Amy Hanaialii. PC: Mele Mei.

GROUP OF THE YEAR: Nā Hoa for Aloha from Nā Hoa (NH Records); and HAWAIIAN MUSIC ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Aloha From Nā Hoa, Nā Hoa (NH Records). PC: Mele Mei

PC: Mele Mei.

Kimie and Anuhea. PC: Mele Mei

Kimie. PC: Mele Mei

Family of Nā Wai ‘Ehā, the Maui group that won MOST PROMISING ARTIST OF THE YEAR. PC: Mele Mei


Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments