Maui News

Nonprofit Directors Honor Business, Humanitarian, Executive Director of Year

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Maui Economic Opportunity

Volunteer Mason Williams, who was nominated by Aloha House, was named Humanitarian Award winner of the year by the Maui Non Profit Directors Association for his “countless hours ensuring that nonprofits have the resources and governance needed for their sustained success.”

Williams was recognized at the association’s virtual leadership awards and annual meeting Thursday, Oct. 21, streamed from Maui Economic Opportunity in Wailuku. 

Other awards announced included Maui Soda & Ice Works, Ltd., nominated by MEO, as winner of the Community Business Award, and Edel Baguio-Larena, chief executive officer of Maui Family Support Services, as Executive Director of the Year.


Baguio-Larena, who holds a Master’s Degree in International and Intercultural Management and a Bachelor’s Degree in Social Work, served as interim CEO in 2014 and became the CEO in March 2015. She had served as Director of Early Childhood Education Services since 2008.

The other finalist for the executive director award was Tamara Sherrill of Maui Nui Botanical Gardens.

Maui Soda was recognized for its generosity in regularly donating its soft drinks, including Coke products, and Roselani ice cream to fundraisers and events of nonprofits and community organizations. The 137-year-old company, owned by the Nobriga family for more than 70 years, donates 5,000 cases of its products to the community annually. Mike Nobriga currently serves on the MEO Board of Directors with Maui Soda, donating thousands of dollars to the nonprofit Community Action Partnership agency.


The Humanitarian Award winner has served on the boards of Aloha House, Malama Family Recovery Center and Maui Youth & Family Services since 2014, after returning to Maui with his wife upon retirement as an executive in the insurance industry. He has led the board as president, vice president and treasurer and offered his expertise in financial and insurance matters. Williams also has opened his house for special fundraising events.

Other nominees for the Humanitarian Award included Jaimie Dukelow, who volunteers with MEO Business Development Center on adult and youth financial basics and business planning classes; Arleen Gerbig, longtime president of the Lahaina-Honolua Senior Club and the Senior Planning and Coordinating Council and MEO board member; Kekoa Barcai, parent volunteer with Head Start; and Justin Horne, volunteer with MEO Youth Services.

Second Circuit District Court Judge Adrianne Heely installed the new officers: Cassandra Abdul executive director of Na Hale O Maui, president; Nicholas Winfrey, president and chief professional officer of Maui United Way, vice president; Richard Carr, chief operations officer at Hawaii Animal Rescue Foundation, secretary; and Sherri Dodson, executive director of Habitat Humanity of Maui, treasurer.


Other members of the board sworn in include Bevanne Bowers, executive director of Mediation Services of Maui, ex-officio member; and Marshall Norman, site director for Job Corps Maui Campus; Monique Ibarra, executive director of Ka Hale A Ke Ola Homeless Resource Centers; and Courtney Ikawa, Maui Regional Director of Big Brothers Big Sisters, members at large.


Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments