Maui Election

Election, Campaign line-up: Kahele officially enters governor’s race

Listen to this Article
3 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00
A
A
A

PC: courtesy

Congressman Kaialiʻi Kahele officially filed his nomination papers on Monday morning in the race for Hawaiʻi’s next governor.

Kahele was joined by his wife Maria, daughters ʻIolana and Nāmaka, and a few key supporters at the Office of Elections in Pearl City.

He emphasized a “pono pledge: to run a clean campaign focused on his vision for Hawaiʻi.” He also called on his competitors to do the same and denounce negative campaign activities by any candidate or non-candidate committee.

“Maria and I are humbled, honored, and excited to officially file our candidacy for Governor of the State of Hawaiʻi,” said Congressman Kai Kahele said in a post filing press release. “Traveling around the state over the last 18 months and speaking to many throughout our community, it became clear that Hawaiʻi is ready for a new style of leadership; one that puts all of Hawaiʻi’s people first, one that is reflective of our diverse and vibrant communities, one that is rooted in our local culture and values, and one that is exciting and inspires hope in the future for our keiki. That is the type of leadership we are prepared to bring to Hawaiʻi’s highest office.”

To date, the Kahele campaign reports receiving upwards of $100,000 in small-dollar donations from more than 1,400 individual contributors across the state. The campaign is accepting no more than $100 from any one individual, according to the announcement.


Election Calendar

  • Saturday, May 14, 2022, 4:30 p.m. – Deadline to file party papers
  • Tuesday, June 7, 2022, 4:30 p.m. – Candidate filing deadline
  • Wednesday, June 8, 2022, 4:30 p.m. – Deadline to withdraw candidacy
  • Tuesday, June 14, 2022, 4:30 p.m. – Deadline to file objections to a nomination paper
  • Friday, June 24, 2022, 4:30 p.m. – Deadline to withdraw candidacy for ill health
  • Wednesday, June 29, 2022 – Deadline for Clerkʻs office to mail ballots to overseas voters
  • Saturday, July 23, 2022 – Deadline to submit voter service center watchers
  • Tuesday, July 26, 2022 – Voters receive begin to receive ballots in the mail for the Primary Election
  • Monday Aug. 1, 2022 – Voter service centers open
  • Wednesday, Aug. 3, 2022 – Deadline to submit paper Voter Registration Application for the 2022 Primary Election
  • Saturday, Aug. 6, 2022 – Deadline for registered voters to request an absentee mail ballot
  • Saturday, Aug. 13, 2022 – Primary Election (7 a.m. to 7 p.m.) / Voter service centers and places of deposit close
  • Thursday, Aug. 25, 2022, 4:30 p.m. – Deadline to submit ballot questions
  • Friday, Aug. 26, 2022 – Deadline to file election objections
  • Monday, Sept. 19, 2022, 4:30 p.m. – Deadline to withdraw candidacy for ill health
  • Friday, Sept. 23, 2022 – Deadline for Clerkʻs office to mail ballots overseas to voters
  • Wednesday, Oct. 19, 2022, 4:30 p.m. – Deadline to submit voter service center watchers
  • Friday, Oct. 21, 2022 – Voters begin to receive their ballots in the mail for the General Election
  • Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2022 – Voter service centers open
  • Monday, Oct. 31, 2022 – Deadline to submit paper Voter Registration Application for the 2022 General Election
  • Tuesday, Nov. 1, 2022 – Deadline for registered voters to request an absentee mail ballot
  • Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2022 – General Election (7 a.m. to 7 p.m.) / Voter Service Centers and places of deposit close
  • Monday, Nov. 28, 2022, 4:30 p.m. – Deadline to file election objections

ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW AD

To submit information on campaign fundraisers, endorsements, and community meet & greet events, send items to [email protected]

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Cancel
Mahalo for Subscribing
×
Make the most of your Maui vacation with these top-rated activities: Maui Top 20: Maui Visitor & Tourism Information

Comments

This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments