Applicants Sought for County Boards, Councils, Commissions and Committees

November 30, 2011, 12:46 PM HST (Updated November 30, 2011, 3:07 PM) · 0 Comments

Mayor Arakawa, photo by Wendy Osher.

By Sonia Isotov

Mayor Alan Arakawa announced today that the County of Maui is seeking applicants for openings on a number of county boards, councils, commissions and committees.

Applicants have until December 31, 2011 to apply and responsibilities include hearing public testimony, reviewing policies and standards and making recommendations.

Positions are appointed by the mayor, confirmed by the County Council and have terms lasting two to five years. There is no monetary compensation associated with serving on a board or commission.

Interested parties can download an application at Applications must be mailed by December 31, 2011 to: Mayor Alan Arakawa, County of Maui, 200 South High Street, Ninth Floor, Wailuku, HI 96793, or faxed to (808) 270-7870.

Applications are being accepted for:

  • Affirmative Action Advisory Council
  • Animal Control Board
  • Board of Code Appeals
  • Board of Ethics
  • Board of Variances and Appeals
  • Board of Water Supply
  • Civil Service Commission
  • Commission on Children and Youth
  • Commission on Culture and the Arts
  • Commission on Naming Streets, Parks and Facilities
  • Commission on Persons with Disabilities
  • Cost of Government Commission
  • Council on Aging
  • Cultural Resources Commission
  • Fire and Safety Commission
  • Hana Advisory Committee
  • Kula Agricultural Park Committee
  • Lana`i Planning Commission
  • Liquor Control Adjudication Board
  • Liquor Control Commission
  • MauiCountyArborist Committee
  • MauiCountyGrants Review Committee
  • MauiPlanning Commission
  • Maui Redevelopment Agency
  • MolokaiPlanning Commission
  • Outdoor Lighting Standards Committee
  • Police Commission
  • Real Property Tax Review Board
  • Salary Commission
  • Subdivision Engineering Standards Committee
  • Traffic Safety Council
  • Urban Design Review Board
  • Volunteer Advisory Board
  • Wastewater Community Working Group
  • Workforce Investment Board

For more information, call the Office of the Mayor at (808) 270-7855 or visit



Share this Article

Weekly Newsletter

View Comments