Ka Ipu Kukui Fellows enters 4th year, applications available

June 24, 2010, 12:10 AM HST · Updated June 25, 8:09 AM

Applications and nominations are now being accepted for University of Hawaii-Maui College’s Ka Ipu Kukui Fellows program. The year-long program is designed to develop future leaders to address planning for Maui’s Future.  The program was developed in collaboration between Decisions Maui and Focus Maui Nui and is now in its fourth year.   Ka ipu kukui means “crucible of light,” a test and a furnace for forging ideas and assembling choices to take the best path into the future. 

The deadline for nominations is 3 p.m. on July 26th, 2010.  To submit nominations, contact Dr. Lori Teragawachi at 984-3406 or visit www.kaipukukui.org to obtain an application.

“We have incorporated input and suggestions from our past Fellows to continuously improve the program,” said Teragawachi.

“Maui Nui occupies a special place in the state, country and world.   But as all of us know, we face many challenges that could very well erode the unique splendor of these special islands,” said Scott Nunokawa, Ka Ipu Kukui steering committee member. 


From concerns and beliefs expressed first by Decisions Maui in the 1980s and reinforced by the 2003 Focus Maui Nui visioning process (www.focusmauinui.com), the Ka Ipu Kukui Fellows program was conceived to identify and train leaders with a community-based program designed to address all aspects of planning for the future of Maui Nui.

The training requires a commitment for active participation through the year, involving one to two days each month depending on the activity scheduled. Activities include exploration of natural areas, cultural resources and political processes as well as focused instruction and discussion on social, economic and lifestyle issues. Past sessions included visits to the State Capitol and meetings with legislators as well as tours of the county’s water infrastructure and agricultural facilities.

Up to fifteen fellows will be selected through a competitive process conducted by the members of the Ka Ipu Kukui steering committee. Applicants will be notified by early August.

Steering committee members include: Sandy Baz, Roselle Bailey, Buck Buchanan, Rory Frampton, Lori Teragawachi, Scott Nunokawa, Stanley Okamoto, Ken Ota, Clyde Sakamoto, Lianne Yoshida, Kalani Ho, Yarrow Flower, Rhiannon Chandler, and Jeanne Skog.  Initiated by the teams involved in Decisions Maui and Focus Maui Nui (www.focusmauinui.com), Ka Ipu Kukui Fellows is managed with the support of the University of Hawai`i Maui College through the Office of Continuing Education and Training (www.maui.hawaii.edu).

The 2010 graduates of Ka Ipu Kukui Fellows Program are: Tia Ferguson, Liz Foote, Angela Gannon, Dean George, Jordan Hart, Kainoa Horcajo, Craig Kinoshita, Tiare Lawrence, Ryan Ouye, Velma Panlasigui, Kimberly Unemori Skog, Chris Speere, Bill Stevens, Emily Sullivan, and Sharon Zalsos.

(Placeholder image courtesy: UH Maui College)



Share this Article

Sign up to receive important news alerts like tsunami warnings,
floods, traffic accidents, road closures and more.
Phone # (xxx-xxx-xxxx):

    View Categories
    Promote Your Maui Business for Free Add Your Listing

    Weekly Newsletter

    This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion.

    I Understand, Show Comments