WAC delays expansion

June 29, 2010, 12:44 PM HST · Updated June 29, 12:44 PM

The Western Athlectic Conference announced today that it will delay expansion of its membership until July 1, 2012.  The smaller eight-team league is the result of a decision by Boise State to leave the conference for the Mountain West.  The WAC will continue the 2011-2012 season with eight teams cosnisting of: Fresno State, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana Tech, Nevada, New Mexico State, San Jose State and Utah State. 

WAC commissioner Karl Benson said in a press release that the remaining teams are well positioned for the future.  The WAC Board will coniser various member options before making decisions affecting the 2012-13 season. 

Since its inception in 1962, Benson said the WAC has operated as an 8, 9 and 10 team league.


Share this Article

    View Categories
    Promote Your Maui Business for Free Add Your Listing

    Weekly Newsletter

    This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion.

    I Understand, Show Comments