Maui News

345 to Earn Degrees in UH Maui College Spring Commencement

May 9, 2011, 2:42 PM HST
Listen to this Article
4 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

By Wendy Osher

UHMC courtesy image.

University of Hawai’i campuses across the state celebrate spring 2011 commencement this month.  An estimated 345 candidates will earn their degrees from the University of Hawai’i Maui College during a 1 p.m. ceremony on Sunday, May 15th at the Maui Arts & Cultural Center, Castle Theater.  The guest speaker will be Governor Neil Abercrombie and the student speaker will be Caroline Nawatzki Neubauer.

Meantime, 93 students from the University of Hawai’i Center on Maui will receive degrees during their commencement at 5:30 p.m. Friday, May 13th at the Maui Beach Hotel, Elleair Ballroom.  The guest speaker at that event will be Maui Chamber of Commerce President Pamela Tumpap.

The complete UH System 2011 spring commencement schedule is as follows:

Friday, May 6

  • UH Mānoa College of Education Department of Education Technology Time: 5 – 7 p.m.  Location: Wist Hall 234, UH Mānoa campus or at the Diamond Head Amphitheater in Second Life (SL) Island.  Speaker: Christine Sorensen, dean, UH Mānoa College of Education.  UH Mānoa College of Education Department of Educational Technology hosts its inaugural virtual graduation ceremony at the COE Second Life (SL) Island.

Wednesday, May 11

  • UH Mānoa School of Nursing & Dental Hygiene Time: 6:30 – 8:30 p.m.  Location: Neal S. Blaisdell Center Concert Hall.  Speaker: Pamela Young, anchor, KITV4 News.  Student Speakers: Kristina Ramilo and Janel Pulido, School of Nursing, and Crystal Bell, School of Dental Hygiene.  Candidates: 19 dental hygiene, 57 undergraduate nursing, 43 graduate nursing.

Friday, May 13

  • Leeward Community College Time: 5 p.m. Location: Tuthill Courtyard, Leeward CC campus.  Student Speakers: Rose Kopp and Marie Ramos.  Candidates: 235.
  • Honolulu Community College Time: 5:30 p.m.  Location: Waikīkī Shell  Speaker: Danene Lunn, Manuheali‘i.  Student Speakers: Willsie Scott and Kevin Matsumoto.  Candidates: 638.
  • UH Mānoa College of Engineering Time: 5:30 p.m.  Location: Campus Center Ballroom, UH Mānoa campus.
  • UH Mānoa Hawaiʻinuiākea School of Hawaiian Knowledge Time: 5:30 – 8 p.m.  Location: Kamakakūokalani Center for Hawaiian Studies, Hālau o Haumea.  Candidates: 46 undergraduate, 6 graduate.
  • University of Hawai‘i Center, Maui Time: 5:30 p.m. Location: Elleair Ballroom, Maui Beach Hotel.  Speaker: Pamela Tumpap, president, Maui Chamber of Commerce.  Candidates: 93.
  • Kapiʻolani Community College Time: 6 p.m.  Location: The Great Lawn, Kapiʻolani CC campus.  Speaker: Kalani Fujiwara, alumni and Kapi‘olani CC political science instructor.  Student Speaker: Heather Young, co-valedictorian.  Candidates: 330.
  • Kauaʻi Community College Time: 6:15 p.m.  Location: Performing Arts Center, Kaua‘i CC campus.  Speaker: The Honorable Neil Abercrombie, governor, State of Hawai‘i.  Candidates: 273.
  • Hawaiʻi Community College, Manono Campus Time: 7 p.m.  Location: Edith Kanakaʻole Multi-Purpose Stadium.  Speaker: The Honorable William “Billy” Kenoi, Mayor, County of Hawai‘i.  Student Speaker: Seth Tucker, liberal arts graduate candidate.  Candidates: 420.

Saturday, May 14

  • University of Hawai‘i at Hilo Time: 9 a.m.  Location: Edith Kanakaʻole Multi-Purpose Stadium.  Speaker: Dr. Hank C.K. Wuh, founder and CEO, Cellular Bioengineering, Inc.  Student Speaker: Valerie Dionne.  Candidates: 607.  UH Hilo marks a historical milestone when the College of Pharmacy awards its first doctor of pharmacy degree during the spring 2011 commencement ceremony.
  • University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Baccalaureate Degrees Time: 9 a.m.  Location: Stan Sheriff Center, UH Mānoa campus  Speaker: Jim Leach, chairman, National Endowment for the Humanities  Student Speaker: Sarah Riordan, BA in speech candidate  Candidates: 1,800.
  • Windward Community College Time: 1 p.m.  Location: Palikū Theatre, Windward CC campus  Student Speaker: Fay M. Kauanoe and Leah M. Keoppel  Candidates: 55.
  • University of Hawai‘i at MānoaAdvanced Degrees Time: 3 p.m.  Location: Stan Sheriff Center, UH Mānoa campus  Speaker: The Honorable Neil Abercrombie, governor, State of Hawai‘i  Candidates: 800.
  • University of Hawai‘i Center, West Hawaiʻi Time: 4 p.m.  Location: Keauhou Convention Center, Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa  Speaker: Lynne T. Waters, associate vice president of external affairs and university relations, University of Hawai‘i System  Student Speaker: Daniel Cody, Sr., culinary arts graduate candidate  Candidates: 64.
  • University of Hawai‘i–West Oʻahu Time: 5 p.m. Location: Neal S. Blaisdell Center Concert Hall Speaker: Peter Carlisle, mayor, City and County of Honolulu  Candidates: 142.

Sunday, May 15

  • UH Mānoa John A. Burns School of Medicine Convocation Ceremony Time: 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.  Location: Neal S. Blaisdell Center Concert Hall  Speaker: Dr. Darrell Kirch, president and CEO, Association of American Medical Colleges.  Student Speaker: Martin Ishikawa, class president  Candidates: 63.
  • University of Hawai‘i Maui College Time: 1 p.m.  Location: Castle Theater, Maui Arts & Cultural Center  Speaker: The Honorable Neil Abercrombie, governor, State of Hawai‘i.  Student Speakers: Caroline Nawatzki Neubauer  Candidates: 345.
  • UH Mānoa William S. Richardson School of Law Time: 5 p.m.  Location: Andrews Amphitheater, UH Mānoa campus  Speaker: Sabrina Shizue McKenna, associate justice, Supreme Court of Hawai‘i.  Student Speaker: Wilson Unga and Nicole Heilemann  Candidates: 99 JD, 11 LLM.

Monday, May 16

  • UH Army ROTC Commissioning Ceremony Time: 6 p.m.  Location: Kennedy Theatre, UH Mānoa campus  Speaker: The Honorable Neil Abercrombie, governor, State of Hawaiʻi.  Candidates: 26 cadets.
E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments