Maui News

PHOTOS: Judiciary Honors Maui Employees for Years of Service

October 17, 2011, 5:41 PM HST
* Updated October 18, 7:28 AM
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

By Wendy Osher

Judge Shackley F. Raffetto (left) joins Chief Justice Mark E. Recktenwald (right) in congratulating members of the Maui Judiciary for their years of service. Photo by Wendy Osher.

Second Circuit Chief Judge Shackley Raffetto was honored today with the Hawaii State Judiciary’s 2011 Jurist of the Year award.

The ceremony at Hoapili Hale on Maui recognized Judge Raffetto for his exceptional judicial competence as evidenced in his service as a circuit court judge since 1994, and a chief justice since 2000.

The award was conferred upon Judge Raffetto by Chief Justice Mark E. Recktenwald.

In addition to presiding over the drug court program, Judge Raffetto was also the chair of the Committee on Jury Innovations for the 21st Century.

Midori Iwami (foreground with leis) was recognized today with the Judiciary's Distinguished Service Award. Photo by Wendy Osher.


He was recognized today not only for his judicial competence, but also for his significant contributions to the administration of justice, and active participation in public service to the community at large.


After receiving his recognition as Jurist of the Year, Judge Raffetto joined Chief Justice Recktenwald and Administrator of the Courts, Rodney Maile, in issuing meritorious and years of service awards to other court employees.

Honored today with the Distinguished Service Award was Midori Iwami, who also received recognition for 35 years of service with the courts.

Iwami is in charge of Human Resources for the Judiciary on Maui.  She was selected for outstanding contributions to improve the efficiency and operations of the judiciary with exceptional skills and performance.

Eric Kawaguchi was honored with the 2011 Spirit of the Judiciary Award. Photo by Wendy Osher.


“In a field that is rapidly changing through technological advances, Midori has taken on the responsibility of mastering new technologies to meet today’s needs.  Through it all, Midori has maintained extreme patience, helpfulness and kindness,” said Recktenwald during today’s ceremony.

Also honored this afternoon was Eric Kawaguchi, who was recognized with the Court’s Spririt of the Judiciary Award.  The award is given to employees who consistently exemplify the helpful and courteous attitude in the execution of service to the public and to co-workers.

“Eric Kawaguchi is a supportive and caring supervisor who constantly strives to create a positive atmosphere for his co-workers and clients.  Above all however, Eric is a consummate team player who inspires teamwork throughout his work,” said Recketenwald.

Awards were also issued to employees for their varying years of service and include the following:

2011 Incentive/Years of Service Awards Ceremony. Photo by Wendy Osher.

35 Years of Service:  Midori Iwami, Colin Rodrigues, and Norma Yotsuya.

30 Years of Service: Amy Hussey, Hana Kraker, Cynthia Phillips, Penny Shimada and Susan Taketa.

25 Years of Service: Sharon Cabos, and Clark Spencer.

20 Years of Service: Miriam (Wailani Kikukawa, Teri-Lynn Nemoto, Katherine Patricio, Michelle Richardson, Vanessa Sousa, and Vance Wakakuwa.

15 Years of Service: Evie-Ann Kahalekai, Misty Nakoa, Rosemond Pettigrew, Deborah Pike, Meridith Russell, and Judge Geronimo Valdriz.

10 Years of Service: Deanna Corden, Tammy Kincaid, Christopher Kish, Laurene Medeiros, and Lisa Texeira.

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments