Policy Committee to Review Nominees to Maui Boards & Commissions

February 14, 2012, 11:27 AM HST · Updated February 14, 12:32 PM

Riki Hokama, chair Maui Council Policy Committee. Courtesy photo.

By Wendy Osher

The Maui Council’s Policy Committee will review nominees to various boards and commissions during its upcoming meeting at 9 a.m. on Wednesday, February 15, 2012.


The council must approve or disapprove of the nominations by a March 31, 2012 deadline, or the nominations will be deemed approved by default.

The list of nominees appointed by the mayor, and awaiting council approval, include the following:

  • Affirmative Action Advisory Council: Abelardo Corella (reappointment)
  • Animal Control Board: Doreen Forsberg
  • Board of Code Appeals: Todd Sherman; and Gerald Lee
  • Board of Ethics: Randol Leach; and Norman Franco
  • Board of Variances and Appeals: Teddy Espeleta; and Gene Abbott
  • Board of Water Supply: Michael Suzuki; and Robert Joslin
  • Civil Service Commission: Jon Santos (reappointment); Alice Lee, for a term expiring on March 31, 2013, to fill an existing vacancy due to the resignation of Delbert DeRego.
  • Commission on Children and Youth: Autumn Arase; and Colin Hanlon
  • Commission on Culture and the Arts: Clifford Libed (reappointment); and Stephen Hynson
  • Commission on Naming Streets, Parks, and Facilities: Eric Cuomo; and Alan Fukuyama
  • Cost of Government Commission: Jeffrey Halpin, for a term expiring on 3/31/2014; Ronald Kawahara, for a term expiring on 3/31/2014 (reappointment); Frank De Rego Jr., for a term expiring on 3/31/2014 (reappointment); Alexander Gat, for a term expiring on 3/31/2014; and Victoria Johnson, for a term expiring on 3/31/2014
  • Council on Aging: Mary Margaret Baker; William Myrter; Maria Zielinski; and Martha Foit, for a term expiring on March 31, 2013, to fill an existing vacancy due to the resignation of Douglas Harr.
  • Fire and Public Safety Commission: Doreen Gomes; and Patrick Borge
  • Hana Advisory Committee: Clayton Carvalho, Jr.
  • Lanai Planning Commission:  Ralph Black; and James Clemens
  • Liquor Control Adjudication Board: Doris Tanaka; and Patrick De Ponte
  • Liquor Control Commission: William Kennison; and Neldon Mamuad
  • Maui County Commission on Persons with Disabilities: Mikey Tomita (reappointment); Joseph Felipe; and Gayle Burton
  • Maui County Cultural Resources Commission: Gaylord Kubota
  • Maui County Grants Review Committee: William Lawson; and Susan Liscombe
  • Maui County Outdoor Lighting Standards Committee:  Todd Sherman
  • Maui Planning Commission:  Maxwell Tsai; and Wayne Hedani
  • Molokai Planning Commission:  Karen Ashley; and Amy Maeda
  • Police Commission:  Lawrence Ing; and Michael Wilson
  • Real Property Tax Review Board:  Bruce Erfer
  • Salary Commission:  Edward Tamori (reappointment)
  • Subdivision Engineering Standards Committee:  Darren Okimoto.

The Policy Committee, led by Chair Riki Hokama, will also consider the establishment of a sister-city relationship with Goyang City, Gyeonggi Province, in South Korea.



Share this Article

Sign up to receive important news alerts like tsunami warnings,
floods, traffic accidents, road closures and more.
Phone # (xxx-xxx-xxxx):

    View Categories
    Promote Your Maui Business for Free Add Your Listing

    Weekly Newsletter

    This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion.

    I Understand, Show Comments