Maui Election

Maui Races Take Shape as Candidate Filing Ends

June 4, 2014, 9:04 AM HST
* Updated June 4, 9:32 AM
Listen to this Article
4 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Photo by Wendy Osher.

Photo by Wendy Osher.

By Wendy Osher

The state elections office released an uncertified list of candidates running in the 2014 election after the filing deadline passed on Tuesday afternoon.

The list features several familiar faces and former elected officials.

Former Maui mayor Kimo Apana has entered the race for the 9th District House Seat – a spot currently filled by incumbent Representative Justin Woodson who was appointed to the seat in 2013.

That race will be decided in the primary since both candidates are on the Democratic ticket, and there is no challengers from other parties.


Another familiar face, Joe Pontanilla, will try to reclaim his seat on the Maui County Council after vacating the spot two years ago due to term limits. He will face Don Guzman who was elected to fill the vacancy in 2012.


Former council member Mike Molina who left due to term limits four years ago, has filed for a return as well. He will face two-term councilman Mike White. Last minute filers, Alex Haller and Henry Kahula Jr., are also included in the race. Both filed for candidacy on Tuesday, June 3.

In Wailuku, there will be a rematch between incumbent council member Michael Victorino and challenger Joseph Blackburn II. The two faced each other in the 2012 general election.

In East and West Maui, there are a total of three contenders in each race. East Maui council incumbent Bob Carroll faces two challengers, John Blumer-Buell and Nick Nikhilananda; and West Maui council incumbent Elle Cochran faces Kaʻala Buenconsejo and Rick Nava.


In South Maui, council incumbent Don Couch faces three challengers, all of whom filed for candidacy within 48 hours of the filing deadline. Challengers include John Fitzpatrick, Robin Knox, and Jerry Metcalfe.

In Upcountry Maui, incumbent council member Gladys Coelho Baisa, who serves as the council chair, faces challenger Courtney Bruch, who submitted her papers on the final filing day.

Both outer island seats are uncontested with incumbents Riki Hokama of Lānaʻi and Stacy Helm Crivello of Molokaʻi going unchallenged this year.

In the race for Maui mayor, there are a total of seven candidates included in the uncertified report released by the Hawaii Office of Elections. The list includes incumbent Mayor Alan Arakawa, who served as mayor from 2002 to 2006, and was elected again in 2010.

He faces a list of candidates that includes: Alana Kay, who ran for the South Maui council seat in 2010; Tamara Paltin, a county employee who has been a vocal advocate for the preservation of Honolua Bay; and Orion Kopelman, who was among the candidates who ran for mayor in the 2010 primary.

Last minute filers for mayor who turned in candidacy papers on the final filing day include: Beau Hawkes of Makawao; Neldon Mamuad of Makawao; and Nelson Waikiki Jr. of Wailuku.

A more detailed list of races affecting Maui County provided in the uncertified report posted at 5:15 on Tuesday, June 3, 2014 include the following:

US Senate
Brian Evans of Keaʻau
Colleen Hanabusa of Honolulu
Brian Schatz of Honolulu
Michael Kokoski of Honolulu
Non Partisan
Joy Allison of Waikoloa
Arturo Reyes of Waipahu
Cam Cavasso of Waimanalo
Harry Friel Jr. of Kapolei
Eddie Pirkowski of Kīhei, Maui
John Roco of Honolulu

US House Congressional District 2
Tulsi Gabbard of Kapolei
Joe Kent of Lahaina, Maui
Marissa Capelouto of Kapolei
Kawika Crowley of Kaaawa

Neil Abercrombie of Honolulu *
David Yutaka Ige of ʻAiea
Van Tanabe of Pearl City
Mufi Hannemann of Honolulu
Jeff Davis of Honolulu
Non Partisan
Misty Davis of Honolulu
Khis DeJean Caldwell of Honolulu
Richard Morse of Honolulu
Joseph Spatola of Honolulu
Duke Aiona of Kaneʻohe
Charles Collins of Pāhoa
Stuart Todd Gregory of Hilo

Lieutenant Governor
Clayton Hee of Kaneʻohe
Sam Puletasi of ʻEwa Beach
Miles Shiratori of Kaneʻohe
Shan Tsutsui of Wailuku *
Mary Zanakis of Kailua
Les Chang of Kaneʻohe
Cynthia Lahi Marlin of Pāhoa
Elwin Ahu of Honolulu
Warner Kimo Sutton of Honolulu

State Senate District 5
Christy Gusman of Puʻunēnē (D)
Gil Keith-Agaran of Wailuku (D) *
Joe Kamaka of Wailuku (R)

State Senate District 6
Terez Amato of Kīhei
Roz Baker of Lahaina *
Bronson Kekahuna Kaahui of Lahaina
Jared Pika Dubois of Kahului

State Senate District 7
J Kalani English of Hāna *

State House District 8
Joe Souki of Wailuku *
Cranston Kapoi of Wailuku

State House District 9
James Kimo Apana of Kahului
Justin Woodson of Kahului *

State House District 10
Angus McKelvey of Lahaina *
Chayne Marten of Lahaina

State House District 11
Kaniela Ing of Kīhei *
Marie Minichino of Kīhei
Pat Brock of Kīhei

State House District 12
Kyle Yamashita of Pukalani *
Richard Pohle of Kula

State House District 13
Mele Carroll of Haʻikū
Barbara Haliniak of Kaunakakai

Maui Mayor
Alan Arakawa *
Beau Hawkes
Alana Kay
Ori Kopelman
Neldon Mamuad
Tamara Paltin
Nelson Waikiki Jr.

East Maui Council
John Blumer-Buell
Bob Carroll of Hana *
Nick Nikhilananda

West Maui Council
Kaʻala Buenconsejo
Elle Cochran *
Rick Nava

Wailuku-Waiheʻe-Waikapū Council
Joseph Blackburn II
Michael Victorino *

Kahului Council
Don Guzman *
Joe Pontanilla

South Maui Council
Don Couch *
John Fitzpatrick
Robin Knox
Jerry Metcalfe

Makawao-Haʻikū-Pāʻia Council
Alex Haller
Henry Kahula Jr.
Mike Molina
Mike White *

Upcountry Council
Gladys Baisa *
Courtney Bruch

Lānaʻi Council
Riki Hokama *

Molokaʻi Council
Stacy Helm Crivello *

* Indicates individual who currently holds the office for the respective seat.

Make the most of your Maui vacation with these top-rated activities: Maui Top 20: Maui Visitor & Tourism Information
E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments