Maui Business

Maui County Council Committee Leadership Announced

November 15, 2014, 2:36 PM HST
* Updated November 19, 8:15 AM
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

The two Mike's: White and Victorino taking the oath of office. File photo 2010 by Wendy Osher.

The two Mike’s: White and Victorino taking the oath of office. File photo 2010 by Wendy Osher.

By Maui Now Staff

Committee leadership roles for the Maui County Council were announced today as the body prepares for the upcoming 2015-2017 term, which begins on Jan. 2, 2015.

Councilmember Mike White, who takes on his new role as council chair in January, announced the changes today saying, “My intent is to have continuity on the Council, with every member taking on leadership roles to allow for pending issues to be thoroughly addressed, while focusing on the needs of our Maui County residents.”

Changes in the new term include the following:

  • Lānaʻi councilmember Riki Hokama will serve as Chair of the Budget and Finance Committee;
  • Wailuku councilmember Michael Victorino will serve as chair of the Policy and Intergovernmental Affairs Committee;
  • Kahului councilmember Don Guzman will chair the newly established Committee of the Whole; and
  • Upcountry councilmember Gladys Baisa has agreed to chair the Water Resources Committee.

“Although our economy continues to rebound, we still face many fiscal challenges that we must tackle here at home, and at the state and federal levels. The Council must work strategically to ensure a strong financial future for our County,” said councilmember Riki Hokama in the announcement.


Five other standing committee roles will remain unchanged in the upcoming including the following:

  • Molokaʻi councilmember Stacy Crivello will chair the Housing, Human Services, and Transportation Committee;
  • West Maui councilmember Elle Cochran will chair the Infrastructure and Environmental Management Committee;
  • Kahului councilmember Don Guzman will chair the Economic Development, Energy, Agriculture, and Recreation Committee;
  • South Maui councilmember Don Couch will remain as chair of the Planning Committee; and
  • East Maui councilmember Robert Carroll will chair of the Land Use Committee.

In a press release issued today, White said that with the majority of committee chairmanships remaining the same, “members are expected to hit the ground running,” with committee meetings beginning in January.

White said making progress on issues facing the community is a top priority for the upcoming term, and the organizational structure represents this focus.

“Collaboration and cooperation among members and the administration will be the key to our success,” said White, who noted that he has already started the process along with his vice chair Don Guzman, by meeting with the mayor, managing director and chief of staff.  “We know we can put our differences aside and agree on what is most important, serving our residents,” he said.

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments