Maui News

Maui’s Senate Delegation Secures Key Leadership, Committee Roles

November 10, 2016, 12:19 PM HST
* Updated November 10, 3:01 PM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

L to R: State Senator Gil Keith-Agaran, Lieutenant Governor Shan Tsutsui, State Senator Roz Baker, and State Senator J Kalani English were among the dignitaries attending the groundbreaking ceremony for the Central Maui Regional Sports Complex. Photo by Wendy Osher.

L to R: State Senator Gil Keith-Agaran, Lieutenant Governor Shan Tsutsui, State Senator Roz Baker, and State Senator J Kalani English. File photo by Wendy Osher.

Maui’s three senators secured key leadership roles and committee assignments in the upcoming 29th session of the Hawaiʻi Legislature.

Senator J Kalani English was selected as Majority Leader; Sen. Gil Keith Agaran is the Judiciary and Labor Chair; and Sen. Roz Baker is the Consumer Protection and Health Chair.

The complete list of leadership roles and key committee appointments include the following:


Senate President: Sen. Ronald D. Kouchi
Senate Vice President: Sen. Michelle N. Kidani
Senate Majority Leader: Sen. J. Kalani English
Senate Majority Caucus Leader: Sen. Brickwood Galuteria
Senate Majority Floor Leader: Sen. Will Espero
Senate Majority Whip: Sen. Donovan M. Dela Cruz


‘A’ Bracket Senate Committee Assignments


Commerce, Consumer Protection and Health (CPN)
Chair: Sen. Rosalyn Baker
Vice Chair: Sen. Clarence Nishihara

Judiciary and Labor (JDL)
Chair: Sen. Gilbert S.C. Keith-Agaran
Vice Chair: Sen. Karl Rhoads

Ways and Means (WAM)
Chair: Sen. Jill N. Tokuda
Vice Chair: Sen. Donovan Dela Cruz


The new positions in leadership and key standing committee chairs was announced ahead of the 2017 legislative session.

“These changes we are making reflect the experience and expertise our Senators bring to this legislative body,” said Senate Majority Leader J. Kalani English.  “The new alignment within leadership and our committees will continue to make us effective as we do the work of the people.”

Leadership and members in the twelve other Senate Standing Committees will be announced when assignments are confirmed.

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments