Maui Business

Two Maui Students Nominated to US Service Academies

March 1, 2017, 2:38 PM HST
* Updated March 1, 5:00 PM
Listen to this Article
3 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

US Senator Mazie K. Hirono and US Senator Brian Schatz of Hawaiʻi announced their nomination of two Maui students to the US military service academies for the Class of 2021. The students’ applications are now being considered by the four academies for final selection.

Maui Class of 2021 Academy Nominations include: Caleb Soo Hoo of Baldwin High School to the US Air Force Academy; and Harlie Stone of Haleakalā Waldorf School to the US Naval Academy.

“By applying to our nation’s service academies, these students exemplify service above self,” said Senator Hirono. “I am certain that each of these candidates will proudly represent Maui and the state of Hawaii as they continue the application process.”

“These nominees are some of Hawai‘i’s best and brightest students and represent a new generation of future military leaders,” said Senator Schatz. “I admire these students for their courage and for their commitment to serve to our country.”

Members of Congress nominate students to the US Air Force Academy, the US Military Academy, the US Naval Academy, and the US Merchant Marine Academy. The US Coast Guard Academy does not require Congressional nominations.


Applicants were considered based on their ability to successfully meet the rigorous demands for the undergraduate education and training of officers of the United States Armed Forces, as well as their demonstrated leadership skills through athletics and other organizations, and an overall commitment to the military, the community and our country.


Nomination does not guarantee appointment.

The Maui nominations were among a list of 41 that Hirono selected for consideration; and 43 names that were submitted by Schatz.  The complete lists from each Senator is as follows:

US Military Academy at West Point (Hirono Nominations)


Edward-James Adachi, Saint Louis School
Caleb Burnett, Damien Memorial High School
Robert Choi, Kalani High School
Anthony Corey, Kalaheo High School
Kainalu Gandia, Kapaa High School
Devon Hartsell, Waimea High School
Rayna Miranda, Roosevelt High School
Bobby Mitchell, Saint Louis School
Ana Oglivie, Iolani School
Jackson Xu, Roosevelt High School

US Naval Academy (Hirono Nominations)

Zachary Bell, University Laboratory School
Julia Boykin, Kalaheo High School
Cagla Brennan, Iolani School
Saiaiga Fautanu, Iolani School
Anh Thu Pham, Lake Braddock High School
Peyton Sommer, Punahou School
Harlie Stone, Haleakala Waldorf School
Fely Vaceck, Kapolei High School
John Wilson, Kapolei Hgih School
Jared Yamura, Punahou School

US Air Force Academy (Hirono Nominations)

Quade Aiu, Kamehameha Schools
Tessa Joy Barbosa, Punahou School
Devin Bugado, Pearl City High School
Chloe Camello, Sacred Hearts Academy
Jared Castaneda, Saint Louis School
Cheyne Fergusson, Waialua High School
Anuhea Hamilton, Waianae High School
Matthew Kop, Punahou School
Ethan Ky, Maryknoll High School
Duncan McKenna, Punahou School
Callan Medeiros, Kamehameha Schools
Christopher Meno, Moanalua High School
Kegan Miura, Kamehameha Schools
Dane Pham, Iolani School
Keely Purrington, Kalaheo High School
Sergei Scharer, Saint Louis School
Caleb Soo Hoo, Baldwin High School
Rita Sorensen, Seton Home Study School
Lois Taylor, Kealakehe High School
Micah Vannatta, Aiea High School

US Merchant Marine Academy (Hirono Nominations)

Kegan Miura, Kamehameha Schools
Zoey Johnson, Punahou School
Ethan Ky, Maryknoll High School
Keely Purrington, Kalaheo High School

The following nominees were named for consideration by Senator Schatz:

Edward-James Adachi, Honolulu, Saint Louis School
Bailey Alabanza, Kailua, Iolani School
Keeanna Andres, Kaneohe, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama
Nicholas Balabis, Kaneohe, Kalaheo High School
Tessa Joy Barbosa, Honolulu, Punahou School
Zachary Bell, Aiea, University Laboratory School
Julia Boykin, Ewa Beach, Kalaheo High School
Cagla Brennan, Waipahu, Iolani School
Caleb Burnett, Aiea, Damien Memorial High School
Andreas Casillas, Honolulu, Radford High School
Jared Castaneda, Honolulu, Saint Louis School
Anthony Corey, Kailua, Kalaheo High School
Saiaiga Fautanu, Ewa Beach, Iolani School
Kaalakaiopono Faurot, Ewa Beach, Punahou School
Jolie Fujita, Honolulu, Punahou School
Kainalu Gandia, Kapaa (Kauai), Kapaa High School (West Point Preparatory School)
Bianca Gendreau, Honolulu, Le Jardin Academy
Kainoa Gnos, Kailua, Le Jardin Academy
Devon Hartsell, Lawai (Kauai), Waimea High School (West Point Preparatory-Schreiner University)
Curtis Hayashi, Honolulu, Punahou School
David Holloway, Kapolei, Mililani High School
Zachary Hughes, Honolulu, Mid-Pacific Institute
Christopher Jenkins, Ewa Beach, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama
Zoey Johnson, Kailua, Punahou School
Kamaehu Kamaka, Kailua, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama
Amadou Kone, Honolulu, Radford High School
Matthew Kop, Honolulu, Punahou School
Scott Lam, Honolulu, Damien Memorial High School
Alexander Lee, Mililani, Mililani High School
Ragan Leslie, Kealakekua (Hawai‘i), Konawaena High School
Rayna Miranda, Honolulu, Roosevelt High School
Ana Oglivie, Kapolei, Iolani School
Anh-Thu Pham, Burke (Virginia), Lake Braddock High School
Keely Purington, Kailua, Kalaheo High School
Anessa Ridley, Honolulu, Moanalua High School
Tanner Ritchey, Ewa Beach, Kapolei High School
Jennifer Serrano Gervais, Hilo (Hawai‘i), Hilo High School
Peyton Sommer, Kailua, Punahou School
Caleb Soo Hoo, Kula (Maui), H.P. Baldwin High School
Alexander Springer, Kapolei, Kapolei High School (JAPAN)
Harlie Stone, Makawao (Maui) Haleakala Waldorf School
Jackson Xu, Honolulu, Roosevelt High School
Ariana York, Mililani, Mililani High School

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments