Maui Reps. Ing and Woodson Secure House Leadership Roles

May 19, 2017, 7:37 AM HST · Updated May 19, 12:54 PM

Rep. Jarrett Keohokalole, Rep. Aaron Ling Johanson, Rep. Mark M. Nakashima, Rep. Dee Morikawa, Rep. Della Au Belatti, House Speaker Scott Saiki, Rep. Cindy Evans, Rep. Henry J.C. Aquino, Rep. Kaniela Ing, and Rep. Justin Woodson

A new leadership team for the Hawaiʻi State House of representatives was announced on Thursday afternoon.

House Speaker Scott Saiki said his new leadership team will help to empower women and the next generation of leaders at the State Capitol.

For the first time since statehood, three of the top four leadership positions will be filled by woman, and seven of the total 11 leadership positions will be filled by lawmakers in their early 40s or younger.  Representatives from all three neighbor island counties comprise nearly half of the leadership team.

Maui Representative Kaniela Ing was selected to serve as one of two Majority Policy Leaders; and Representative Justin Woodson of Kahului was selected as one of five majority whips. The changes come after Maui’s Joe Souki resigned as Speaker of the House two weeks ago.

Rep. Dee Morikawa, Rep. Della Au Belatti, House Speaker Scott Saiki, and Rep. Cindy Evans


“As we look to build and reform the Hawaiʻi State House of Representatives, it is important to ensure that women and the next generation of leaders are given the opportunity to lead under my tenure as Speaker. We have a real diversity of perspective and life experience in this leadership team that will position us well to lead the state on the many critical issues facing us today,” said Speaker Saiki.

The new House leadership includes the following:

  • Vice Speaker – Representative Della Au Belatti (District 24)
  • Majority Leader – Representative Cindy Evans (District 7), Hawaiʻi Island
  • Majority Floor Leader – Representative Dee Morikawa (District 16), Kauaʻi
  • Majority Policy Leaders – Representative Jarrett Keohokalole (District 48); and Representative Kaniela Ing (District 11), Maui
  • Majority Whips – Representative Henry J.C. Aquino (District 38); Representative Aaron Ling Johanson (District 31); Representative Chris Lee (District 51); Representative Mark M. Nakashima (District 1), Hawaiʻi Island; and Representative Justin Woodson (District 9), Maui.


Share this Article

Sign up to receive important news alerts like tsunami warnings,
floods, traffic accidents, road closures and more.
Phone # (xxx-xxx-xxxx):

    View Categories
    Promote Your Maui Business for Free Add Your Listing

    Weekly Newsletter

    View Comments