Maui Sports

Maui Surfer Invited to 2017 Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Rip Curl and World Surf League announced the 16 surfers invited to compete in the Rip Curl Cup 2017, to be held on the best day of waves at Padang Padang between July 10 and Aug. 10. Among the 16 invitees are Maui surfer Clay Marzo, Kauaʻi’s Bruce Irons and Oʻahu’s Mason Ho.

Rip Curl team rider Mason Ho (HAW) has been invited to compete at the 2017 Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang.
Credit: © WSL / Lawrence

Surfers that are representing Indonesia are defending Rip Curl Cup Champion Mega Semadhi, Indonesian surfing ambassador Rizal Tandjung and two-time Indonesian Champion Lee Wilson.

WSL says that “going by the numbers, there’s no question 2017’s lineup of invited surfers is one of the most potent ever assembled: a three time World Champion (Tom Curren), five WCT event Champions and four Indonesian National Champions are among the all-star lineup of surfers vying for the 2017 Rip Curl Cup at Padang Padang.”

Curren, Ho, Irons, Marzo and Damien Hobgood are all making a return appearance to the Rip Curl Cup and are hoping to better their finals appearances from last year and claim The Cup.

Reigning Rip Curl Cup Champion Mega Semadhi told WSL that he’s looking forward to a rematch with the big names, no matter how it plays out.


“Padang Padang is one of the best waves in Indonesia,” Semadhi said. “It’s the perfect spot to share with some of the best tube riders in the world. When you get that combination of wave quality and talent for one special day, everyone is always going to leave stoked no matter where they end up finishing.”


Following is the complete surfer lineup for the 2017 Rip Curl Cup:

International Surfers:

1. Tom Curren (USA)
2. Mason Ho (HAW)
3. Damien Hobgood (USA)
4. Bruce Irons (HAW)
5. Kai Otton (AUS)
6. Bruno Santos (BRA)
7. Clay Marzo (HAW)
8. Jack Robinson (AUS)
9. Jacob Willcox (AUS)
10. Ryan Burch (USA)


Note: Only eight international surfers will receive a spot in the event. Entry granted on first-come, best-dressed basis.

Indonesian Surfers:

1. Bol Adi Putra
2. Raditya Rondi
3. Mega Semadhi
4. Rizal Tandjung
5. Pepen Hendrik
6. Garut Widiarta
7. Lee Wilson
8. TBD (winner of local trials)

There will be a one-day competition for last spot in main event that will be held at Padang or Uluwatu on the best day of surf conditions between July 1 and 7.

The 2017 Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang will be webcast live to the world at WSL and the WSL App.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing
Make the most of your Maui vacation with these top-rated activities: Maui Top 20: Maui Visitor & Tourism Information


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments