Maui News

Recent Drought Results in Natural Disaster Area Designation for Maui County

October 31, 2017, 12:03 PM HST
* Updated October 31, 12:06 PM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

The US Department of Agriculture has designated Maui County as a primary natural disaster area due to losses and damages caused by a recent drought.

File photo by Wendy Osher.

Farmers and ranchers in Kalawao County on Molokaʻi also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their county is contiguous.

The Natural Disaster Area designation was made on Friday, Oct. 27, 2017, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for FSA’s emergency loans, provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; the Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program.


Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online.

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments