Maui Sports

6 Players Qualify for Sentry Tournament of Champions

Listen to this Article
4 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Six PGA Tour players have qualified for Maui’s Sentry Tournament of Champions to be held at The Plantation Course in Kapalua next January.

Courtesy of their recent victories, Brooks Koepka, Sung Kang, Max Homa, Jon Rahm, Ryan Palmer and C.T. Pan became the latest players to qualify for the winners-only event and join the 17 other TOUR winners this season.

Winning on the PGA TOUR is the only way to qualify for the 2020 Sentry Tournament of Champions.

Brooks Koepka

2018 PGA TOUR Player of the Year Brooks Koepka captured his fourth major victory, and sixth career Tour win at the PGA Championship with a two-shot victory over Dustin Johnson. With the win, Koepka jumped to No. 1 in the Official World Golf Ranking and No. 2 in the FedExCup standings. He also became the first player since Tiger Woods (2006 and 2007) to win the tournament in consecutive years. The victory qualified Koepka for a return trip to the Sentry Tournament of Champions in January where he looks to improve on a career-best finish T3 in 2016.




Sung Kang

In his sixth start at the AT&T Byron Nelson, Sung Kang notched his first career PGA TOUR victory when he closed with a 4-under 67 to finish at 23-under and beat Matt Every and Scott Piercy by two strokes. Kang and Every played all four rounds together, including the 27-hole day on Sunday after the third round was delayed six hours by rain. The 31-year-old, who was one stroke behind Every when third-round play resumed, completed a 68 to take a three-stroke lead over Every into the final round. With three consecutive birdies late, including a 23-footer on the 15th hole at Trinity Forest Golf Club, Kang regained the lead for good. With the win, the South Korea native qualified for his first trip to the Sentry Tournament of Champions.



Max Homa

Max Homa captured his first career PGA TOUR victory at the Wells Fargo Championship when he closed with a 4-under 67 to defeat Joel Dahmen by three strokes. The 28-year-old started the final round in a three-way tie for the lead with Dahmen and Jason Dufner. Homa notched two birdies on the front nine to move into the solo-lead. He made another birdie on the 11th hole to get to 15 under and after a 62-minute weather delay, Homa sank his short par putt on 14 to move his lead to three and stay atop the leaderboard for good. The victory secured Homa’s opportunity to make his first trip to Maui and the Sentry Tournament of Champions.


Ryan Palmer and Jon Rahm 

In Ryan Palmer’s 11th start at the event, Jon Rahm’s second start and their first as teammates, Palmer and Rahm captured the victory at the Zurich Classic of New Orleans. Palmer picked up his fourth career PGA TOUR victory and Rahm notched his third career TOUR victory, respectively, when the duo combined for a 3-under 69 in the alternate-shot final round to defeat Sergio Garcia and Tommy Fleetwood by three strokes in the TOUR’s only team event. The partners opened the final round tied atop the leaderboard with Scott Stallings and Trey Mullinax but surged to a two-stroke lead in the first two holes. Palmer and Rahm never lost the lead after that and finished at 26-under 262 at the TPC Louisiana. With the win, the American and Spaniard qualified for return trips to Maui and the Sentry Tournament of Champions.


C.T. Pan

In just his third start at the RBC Heritage, C.T. Pan earned his first career PGA TOUR victory when he shot a 4-under 67 to finish 12-under 272 and defeat Matt Kuchar by one stroke. The 27-year-old began the final round T5 and two strokes off 54-hole leader Dustin Johnson. Pan moved up the leaderboard on the back nine and briefly shared the lead with Kuchar and Patrick Cantlay, but a birdie on the par-4 16th moved Pan to 12 under and put him on top for good. With the victory, the Chinese Taipei native qualified for his first trip to the Sentry Tournament of Champions.


Currently, 23 players have qualified for the Sentry Tournament of Champions courtesy of their PGA TOUR victories this calendar year, including seven first timers. Eight of the top-10 in the FedExCup standings – Matt Kuchar, Brooks Koepka, Xander Schauffele, Rory McIlroy, Paul Casey, Dustin Johnson, Rickie Fowler and Jon Rahm – are all qualified after recording victories on the PGA TOUR this calendar year.

For more information about the Sentry Tournament of Champions, visit

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing
Make the most of your Maui vacation with these top-rated activities: Maui Top 20: Maui Visitor & Tourism Information


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments