Maui News

2022 Maui FCU higher education scholarship recipients named

Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Altene Jacob Tumacder, Celiessa Pangan, D’Marco Rabang, Dustin David Metzler Jr., and Korey Hanaike. PC: courtesy

As part of its commitment to investing in the Maui community, Maui Federal Credit Union’s CEO and President Clayton Fuchigami announced that $1,000 higher education scholarships were awarded to five credit union members.

The recipients and their respective university programs are:

  • Altene Jacob Tumacder, UH Manoa, Nursing
  • Celiessa Pangan, UH Maui College, Nursing
  • D’Marco Rabang, University of Las Vegas, Hospitality Management
  • Dustin David Metzler Jr., UH Maui College, Exploratory Business
  • Korey Hanaike, UH Manoa, Travel Industry Management

Maui FCU’s Higher Education Scholarship Program is open to primary members of Maui FCU in good standing for at least one year and attendance must be on a full-time basis during the award year.

Applicants submitted an application form, a resume, and a media submission, along with their acceptance letter to the college of their choice.

Next year’s application will be available Spring of 2023.


This year, our scholarship committee was assisted by Attorney Paul Horikawa in selecting the 2022 scholarship recipients.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Mahalo for Subscribing
Make the most of your Maui vacation with these top-rated activities: Maui Top 20: Maui Visitor & Tourism Information


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments