Maui News

Women of Maui County Honored at Celebration of Women’s History Month

March 22, 2010, 2:00 PM HST
* Updated March 22, 2:37 PM
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Fifty-five women in Maui County were recognized as part of Women’s History Month in Maui County.  The honorees were nominated by the County’s Committee on the Status of Women (CSW) following a proclamation by Maui Mayor Charmaine Tavares declaring March as Women’s History Month.

Mayor Tavares honors The Rev. Mrs. Torako Arine as part of Women's History Month. Photo Courtesy County of Maui.

Fifty-five honorees were recognized by the county of Maui as part of Women's History Month. Photo Courtesy County of Maui.

In her remarks, Tavares said, “Women have played major roles in the history of Maui County, and the women being honored today have each played an important role in shaping the future of our community. These inspiring women have provided countless hours of volunteerism, and have made many contributions to education, business, culture, the arts, politics, non-profits and faith-based organizations.”

This year’s national theme, “Writing Women Back into History,” reflects the 30th anniversary of the Women’s History movement in the U.S. The County’s Committee on the Status of Women, with the financial support from the State of Hawaii’s CSW, created a booklet honoring each of the nominees and their contributions to Maui County. Each honoree received a copy of the booklet and was presented with a certificate of achievement from the Mayor.

Honorees included: Governor Linda Lingle, Mayor Charmaine Tavares, Gail Ainsworth, Johanna Amorin, Lynda Arena, Carolee Aricayos, The Rev. Mrs. Torako Arine, Gladys Coelho Baisa, MayLing Barbosa, Barbara Barnhart, Susana Browne, Jan Dapitan, Sandy Dent, Lucienne DeNaie, RoseMarie Lindsay Duey, Teri Edmonds, Jill Engledow, Mary Evanson, Kimberly Finney, Karen Fischer, Auriol Flavell, Sandra Florence, Rose Cambra Freitas, Jeneen Fujimoto Fukuroku, Ivy Gatiuan, Pema Gilman, Leslie Granat, Barbara Haliniak, Donna Haytko-Paoa, Hokulani Holt-Padilla, Susanne Hotta, Nikki Janssen, Judith Kitagawa, Puanani Doong Lindsey, Phyllis McOmber, Lillian Maeda, Maggie Masicampo, Elaine Malina, the late Patsy Mink, Debra Aguinaldo Nakama, Helen Nielsen, Jackie Pias Carlin, Wallette Garcia Pellegrino, Karen Peterson, Anna Ribucan, Rosemary Robbins, Adele Rugg, Kahu Lei’ohu Ryder, Evelyn Sano, the late Velma McWayne Santos, the late Emma Kapiolani Farden Sharpe, Lee Stein, Florence Ueoka, Ann Wakamatsu, and Leslie Wilkins.

The Maui County Committee on the Status of Women was established by state statute in 1970.  Current members include Lois Prey, Chair; Margaret Bruck, Vice-Chair; and members Suzanne Hobbs, Barbara Potopowitz, Jenilynne Salvador and Carol Summers.

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments