All four Hawaii counties declared Agricultural Disaster Zones

July 19, 2010, 11:20 AM HST · Updated July 19, 11:20 AM

Congresswoman Mazie K. Hirono (D-Hawaii) today announced that U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Thomas Vilsack has designated all four counties in Hawaii as agricultural disaster areas due to losses caused by this year’s drought. 

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators and producers in both primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for Farm Service Agency emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program.  The Farm Service Agency will consider each emergency loan application on its own merit by taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loan assistance.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture also reminds island ranchers that the Livestock Indemnity Program remains available for producer losses.


For more information on these federal programs, please contact your county USDA Farm Service Agency office:

USDA Farm Service Agency – Oahu (808) 441-2704

USDA Farm Service Agency – Hawaii Island (808) 933-8381 Ext. 2

USDA Farm Service Agency – Kauai (808) 245-9014 Ext. 353

USDA Farm Service Agency – Maui (808) 871-5500 Ext. 2



Share this Article

Sign up to receive important news alerts like tsunami warnings,
floods, traffic accidents, road closures and more.
Phone # (xxx-xxx-xxxx):

    View Categories
    Promote Your Maui Business for Free Add Your Listing

    Weekly Newsletter

    This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion.

    I Understand, Show Comments