VIDEO: Wichita State and Virginia will battle for 5th place in EA SPORTS Maui Invitational

November 23, 2010, 2:12 PM HST · Updated November 24, 6:36 AM
0 Comments
×

The stage is partially set for the Wednesday line up in the third and final day of the 27th Annual EA SPORTS Maui Invitational Basketball Tournament.  Wednesday consolation games will feature Wichita State and Virginia in the battle for 5th Place at 2:30 p.m. HST (7:30 p.m. Eastern); and host Chaminade and Oklahoma for the 7th Place matchup at 9:30 a.m. HST (2:30 p.m. Eastern).

#24 David Kyles and #31 J.T. Durley sof Wichita State peak at a press conference on Maui after defeating Chaminade 79-58 in Game 5 of the EA Sports Maui Invitational Basketball Tournament. Photo and video by Wendy Osher.

In Game 5, Wichita State defeated host Chaminade in a 79-58 win.  In Game 6, Virginia defeated Oklahoma in an 18 point spread with a final score of 74-56.

Earlier in the tournament, Wichita State fell to Connecticut in Game 1, led by Kemba Walker’s 29 second half points, 83-79. Freshman Terrence Jones led Kentucky with 29 points as the Wildcats topped Oklahoma in Game 2, 76-64. Host Chaminade University played No. 2 Michigan State tough for 40 minutes in Game 3. Kalin Lucas scored a career-high 28 points as the Spartans beat Chaminade 82-74. In the nightcap, Washington tied a school record with 17 3-pointers as the Huskies beat Virginia, 106-63.

Tuesday’s afternoon matchups are as follows:
Game 7 (Semifinal): Connecticut vs. Michigan State at 2 p.m. HST, 7 p.m. ET on ESPN
Game 8 (Semifinal): Kentucky vs. Washington at 4:30 p.m. HST, 9:30 p.m. ET on ESPN

SPONSORED VIDEO

Wednesday’s matchups are as follows:
Game 9 (7th Place): Chaminade vs. Oklahoma at 9:30 a.m. HST, 2:30 p.m. ET on ESPN-U
Game 11 (5th Place): Wichita State vs. Virginia at 2:30 p.m. HST, 7:30 p.m. ET on ESPN-U

Game 10 (3rd Place): Loser of Connecticut vs. Michigan State vs. loser of Kentucky vs. Washington, at 12 p.m. HST, 5 p.m. ET on ESPN2
Game 12 (Championship): Winner of Connecticut vs. Michigan State vs. winner of Kentucky vs. Washington, at 5 p.m. HST, 10 p.m. ET on ESPN

(Video and story posted by Wendy Osher, supporting information courtesy EA SPORTS Maui Invitational)

Print

Share this Article

    View Categories
    Promote Your Maui Business for Free Add Your Listing

    Weekly Newsletter

    ARTICLE COMMENTS ( 0 )
    This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion.

    I Understand, Show Comments