Maui Business

Hawai‘i Association of Broadcasters Awards $45K in Scholarships

August 25, 2015, 10:10 AM HST
* Updated August 25, 10:12 AM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

HAB_Logo hawaii broadcastersBy Maui Now Staff

The Hawai‘i Association of Broadcasters Inc. awarded $45,000 in  scholarships to assist students in pursuit of attending college and attaining a career in the broadcast industry in Hawai‘i.

High school seniors and college students with a minimum 2.5 grade point average and the desire to work in the broadcast industry in the state upon completion of school were eligible for awards.

The application process required a completed application form, a letter of recommendation from a current or former teacher and a personal interview with the HAB scholarship committee.

The Hawai‘i Association of Broadcasters Inc. is a trade organization made up of radio and television stations and others whose common goal is to support and benefit the local broadcast industry.


For more information, contact HAB Executive Director Jamie Hartnett at (808) 599- 1455 or via email.


The following students received awards:

Student, school attending, coming from

Cashman Aiu, New York University, New York University


Jesand Amodo, Hawai‘i Pacific University, Hawai‘i Pacific University

Monica Arbiet, Barnard College, Punahou School

Tabitha Blessum, Vanguard University, Kīhei Charter School

Matthew Brown, Chapman University, Chapman University

Kiana Cayabab, Loyola Marymount University, Loyola Marymount University

Chloe Delaney, Linfield College, Konawaena High School

Eunica Marie Escalante, UH Mānoa, Moanalua High School

Madieson Felicilda, UH Maui College, UH Mānoa

Elija Gladstone, Los Angeles Community College, Los Angeles Community College

Danielle Ho, University of New Mexico, University of New Mexico

Jordan Jarvis, Vanguard University, Kīhei Charter School

Jacqueline Kapu, UH Maui College, UH Maui College

Darius Kila, Southern Oregon University, Southern Oregon University

Zoe Leonard, Dartmouth College, Kamehameha Schools

Lia Mausolf, University of San Diego, Punahou School

Lahela Maxwell, Arizona State University, Coconino Community College

Grayson Nolette, North Texas University, St. Anthony High School

Adara Pineda, UH Mānoa, Moanalua High School

Rayvan Vares, Tokyo International University, Southern Oregon University

Kamakalia Waipa, UH Hilo, UH Hilo

Mahealani Yoshida, San Diego State University, San Diego State University

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments