Lunas Held Scoreless Against Kapaa, Host Maui High Next

August 14, 2016, 3:29 PM HST · Updated August 14, 3:29 PM
0 Comments
×

Kapaa quarterback Kurt Napoleon threw for none touchdown and ran for another to lead the Warriors to a 21-0 win at Lahainaluna Saturday. Photo by Rodney S. Yap.

Kapaa quarterback Kurt Napoleon threw for none touchdown and ran for another to lead the Warriors to a 21-0 win at Lahainaluna Saturday. Photo by Rodney S. Yap.

By Mauinow.com

Kapaa High School’s Kurt Napoleon threw for one touchdown and ran for another to lead the visiting Warriors of Garden Isle over Lahainaluna on Saturday, 21-0.

Quarterback Napoleon dove in from 1 yard with 6 minutes, 47 seconds to play in the second quarter and connected with tight end Izaya Valeria on a play-action pass 1:36 later, helping Kapaa build a 14-0 halftime lead.

The Warriors’ Leighton Moniz returned a punt 76 yards midway through the third quarter to cap Kapaa’s scoring. Moniz fielded a 65-yard punt by Lahainaluna’s Unaloto Pahulu on the fly and blew past the Lunas’ coverage, starting up the middle and then veering to the sidelines untouched.

Lahainaluna's Joshua Tihada runs behind the lead block of Elijah Ragudo (24) against Kapaa Saturday at Lahaina's Sue Cooley Stadium. Photo by Rodney S. Yap.

Lahainaluna’s Joshua Tihada runs behind the lead block of Elijah Ragudo (24) against Kapaa Saturday at Lahaina’s Sue Cooley Stadium. Photo by Rodney S. Yap.

The Lunas struggled offensively against a solid Kapaa defense. They were also their own worse enemy at times, losing three fumbles and failing to convert an interception into points in the second half.

Kapaa shut out Lahainaluna 24-0 last November in a Division II semifinal game on Kauai.

On Aug. 6, Lahainaluna (1-1) beat Pearl City 29-0. The Lunas host Maui High on Friday, Aug. 19, at 7 p.m.

The Sabers (0-2) fell to Damien (1-1) last Friday, 33-0, and came up short at Kapaa (2-0) two weeks, 16-6.

The Maui interscholastic League regular-season schedule kicks off Thursday, Aug. 18, when King Kekaulike host cross-town rival Kamehameha Maui at 7 p.m. Na Alii (0-0) did not play a preseason game, while Pac-Five (2-0) defeated the Warriors (0-1) last Friday, 26-13.

WARRIORS 21, LUNAS 0

Kapaa 0 14 7 0—21

Lahainaluna 0 0 0 0—0

Second Quarter

KA—Kurt Napoleon 1 run (Clifton Oliver kick), 6:47

KA—Izaya Valeria 4 pass from Napoleon (Oliver kick), 5:09

Lahainaluna's Onaloto Pahulu forces a fumble on this sack of Kapaa quarterback Kurt Napoleon Saturday. Photo by Rodney S. Yap.

Lahainaluna’s Onaloto Pahulu (4) forces a fumble on this sack of Kapaa quarterback Kurt Napoleon Saturday. Photo by Rodney S. Yap.

Third Quarter

KA—Leighton Moniz 76 punt return (Oliver kick), 6:06

2016 MIL FOOTBALL SCHEDULE

Thursday, Aug. 18

Kamehameha Maui at King Kekaulike, 7 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 19

Maui High at Lahainaluna, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 20

x-Baldwin vs. Edison (Calif.) at War Memorial Stadium, 6 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 26

Maui High vs. King Kekaulike at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 27

Baldwin at Kamehameha Maui, 7 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 2

Lahainaluna at King Kekaulike, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 3

Baldwin vs. Maui High at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 9

Maui High vs. Kamehameha at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 10

Baldwin at Lahainaluna, 7 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 16

Baldwin vs. King Kekaulike at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 17

Lahainaluna at Kamehameha Maui, 7 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 23

King Kekaulike at Kamehameha, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 24

Maui High at Lahainaluna at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 30

Baldwin vs. Kamehameha Maui at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 1

Maui High at King Kekaulike, 7 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 7

Baldwin at King Kekaulike, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 8

Kamehameha Maui at Lahainaluna, 7 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 14

Maui High at Kamehameha Maui, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 15

Baldwin vs. Lahainaluna at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 21

King Kekaulike at Lahainaluna, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 22

Maui High vs. Baldwin at War Memorial Stadium, 7 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 28

MIL Division I playoff at War Memorial Stadium, if necessary, time TBA

Saturday, Oct. 29

MIL Division II playoff at War Memorial Stadium, if necessary, time TBA

ADVERTISEMENT

Print

Share this Article

BREAKING NEWS 
TEXT ALERTS
Sign up to receive important news alerts like tsunami warnings,
floods, traffic accidents, road closures and more.
Phone # (xxx-xxx-xxxx):
E-Mail:
 

Weekly Newsletter

ARTICLE COMMENTS ( 0 )
View Comments