Maui Business

Maui Rotary Clubs Induct New Presidents

July 9, 2017, 8:46 AM HST
* Updated July 9, 8:48 AM
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

For the fourth consecutive year the presidents of each of the ten Maui County Rotary clubs were inducted into their positions at an all-island ceremony. The unique ceremony was held at the Seascape Restaurant on Friday, June 30, 2017 and was attended by Rotary members and guests.

Pastor Laki Ka`ahumanu shares a message about leading with aloha to the newly inducted Maui Rotary Presidents. Left to right: Pastor Laki Ka`ahumanu, Rick Nava, Dr. Anne Biedel, Mariko Higashi, Ludwig Simonsen, Steve Spence, Lynette Pendergast, Tony Levoy, Kit Hawkins, David Hoffman

The event was hosted by Master of Ceremonies Alexis Dascoulias and four past and upcoming district governors for Hawaiʻi district D5000 served as the induction officers.

Current District Governor Clint Schroeder administered the oath of office and spoke to the group urging them to share Rotary’s humanitarian message with their communities.

County of Maui Managing Director Keith Regan addressed the attendees as Mayor Alan Arakawa’s representative. Regan thanked the incoming presidents for answering the call to service and stressed the important work that Rotary does across the island. “The annual activities that Rotary does throughout Maui County wouldn’t be possible without the hardworking hands of dedicated Rotarians on our island,” he said. “It’s really truly amazing what Rotary does here and we need to be very grateful for everything you’ve accomplished.”

Attendees at the Maui Rotary All-Island Induction congratulate the newly-inducted club presidents.

Pastor Laki Kaʻahumanu offered a blessing and shared a special message for the inductees which urged them to see their new responsibilities as part of living with aloha.


Also assuming their roles as Assistant District Governors for 2017-2018 were: Wendy Hornack from the Rotary Club of Upcountry who will serve for the four Central Maui clubs, and Marti Wukelic from the Rotary Club of Lahaina who will serve for the five Coastal Clubs and Lana`i.


Each new president attended a four-day president-elect training seminar in San Jose, California, where they participated in workshops to prepare them for leading their clubs in the new Rotary year. The ten Maui County Rotary club presidents, and their president-elects meet once a month to share individual club information and plan all-island Rotary events.

Steven Dascoulias and Senator Roz Baker prepare to congratulate the newly inducted Maui Rotary Presidents with clensing of the hands offered by Pastor Laki Ka`ahumanu

Some of these all-island events for 2017-2018 include school supplies drives at the beginning of the school year, a November food drive for the Maui Food Bank, an annual Weinberg Project, purchasing books for the October Maui Children and Youth Day, providing dictionaries for every third grader in Maui County schools, and funding and staffing the Rotary Youth Leadership Awards Camp for 80 high school students.

Ten of the 51 clubs that make up Rotary District 5000 are located on Maui and Lana`i.


Rotary is a leadership organization made up of local business, professional and civic leaders. Clubs hold regular meetings where members are able to form friendships and participate in activities that serve their communities.

Presidents of the Maui and Lānaʻi Rotary Clubs for 2017-2018:

Kahului – David Hoffman
Kīhei Wailea – John Moore
Lahaina – Rick Nava
Lahaina Sunrise – Dr. Anne Biedel
Lahaina Sunset – Mariko Higashi
Lānaʻi – Ludvig Simonsen
Maui –Steve Spence
Upcountry – Lynette Pendergast
Valley Isle Sunset – Bryan Zoellner
Wailuku – Tony Levoy

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments