Kansas Jayhawks Advance to Championship Against Dayton Flyers in Maui Jim Maui Invitational

November 27, 2019, 7:26 AM HST · Updated November 27, 7:32 AM
0 Comments
×

Today’s Games:

  • Championship Game: Kansas Jayhawks vs Dayton Flyers, Nov. 27 at 12 p.m. HT (5 p.m. ET).
  • 3rd/4th Place Game: BYU Cougars vs Virginia Tech Hokies, Nov. 27 at 6:30 p.m. HT (11:30 p.m. ET).
  • 5th/6th Place Game: UCLA Bruins vs Michigan State Spartans, Nov. 27 at 9:30 a.m. HT (11:30 a.m. PT; 2:30 p.m. ET).
  • 7th/8th Place Game: Georgia Bulldogs vs host Chaminade Silverswords, Nov. 27 at 4 p.m. HT (9 p.m. ET).

Jayhawks Advance to Championship Against Flyers

The Kansas Jayhawks defeated the BYU Cougars 71-56 in Day 2 of the 2019 Maui Jim Maui Invitational early season college basketball tournament, to secure a spot in today’s championship game against the Dayton Flyers.

The Championship game tips off at 12 p.m. HT (5 p.m. ET) today, Wednesday, Nov. 27, 2019, at the Lahaina Civic Center in West Maui.

SPONSORED VIDEO

The Jayhawks led at the half by two points with a score of 27-29, but increased their lead to a 15 point advantage over BYU by the end of the game.

David McCormick led Kansas with 16 points followed by Devon Dotson with 13 points and 8 assists. For BYU, senior guard TJ Haws was the lead scorer earning 16 points and 5 assists.

Dayton Defeats Virginia Tech for a Spot in the Championship Game

The Dayton Flyers defeated the Virginia Tech Hokies, 89-62 in Game 7 of the Maui Jim Maui Invitational basketball tournament in Lahaina, Maui.

Dayton lead at the half, 49-31, and kept the momentum going into the second half, with Obi Toppin racking up a total of 24 points during the game, followed by Rodney Chatman and Trey Landers with 13 points each.  Top scorers for the Hokies were Landers Nolley II and Hunter Cattoor.

UCLA Over Host Chaminade

The UCLA Bruins handily defeated host Chaminade, 74-48 in Day 2 of the 2019 Maui Jim Maui Invitational.

UCLA freshman Jamie Jacquez posted career-highs of 17 points and 12 rebounds, according to stats compiled by the tournament. “Redshirt sophomore Cody Riley and sophomore David Singleton also tallied career-high scoring performances with 15 points each.  Eliet Donley led the Silverswords in scoring with 10 points,” according to tournament information.

Spartans Defeat Bulldogs, 93-85

Michigan State advances to the 5th/6th place game of the 2019 Maui Jim Maui Invitational tournament after defeating the Georgia Bulldogs, 93-85 on Tuesday in a close game at the Lahaina Civic Center.

The Spartans led Georgia by 21 points at the half with Cassius Winston scoring 28 points in the game.   In the second half, Georgia reportedly “turned up the heat,” scoring 54 points and making it a “two possession game,” with Anthony Edwards scoring 37 points for his team.

Maui Jim Maui Invitational. Background file photo by Rodney S. Yap.

ADVERTISEMENT

Print

Share this Article

BREAKING NEWS 
TEXT ALERTS
Sign up to receive important news alerts like tsunami warnings,
floods, traffic accidents, road closures and more.
Phone # (xxx-xxx-xxxx):
E-Mail:
 

Weekly Newsletter

ARTICLE COMMENTS ( 0 )
View Comments