Maui News

Finalists for Maui Fire Chief Narrowed to Four

August 13, 2018, 3:11 PM HST
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00


Maui County residents are invited to submit public testimony on behalf of finalists for fire chief at upcoming Fire and Public Safety Commission meetings in Wailuku.

Fire finalists under consideration by the commission include Chief David Thyne, Capt. Kaulana Kino, Chief Lionel Montalvo and Capt. Guy Danley.

Public testimony will be accepted during two commission meetings: 10:30 a.m. Aug. 20 and 8:30 a.m. Aug. 27, both at the ILWU Hall, 896 Lower Main St., Wailuku.

Maui Fire Chief Jeffrey A. Murray retired on June 30th, 2018, after 10 years at the helm of the department.  For the past month and a half, Deputy Chief Lionel W. Montalvo has been serving as the interim Fire Chief until a permanent one is chosen by the commission.

Maui Fire Chief Finalists.

Newly selected Assistant Chief David Thyne fills the post created by the retirement of Support Services A.C. Alan Pascua. Photo Courtesy: County of Maui. File 2009.

Kaulana Kino, courtesy photo C.O.M.

Swearing-in/Badge Pinning Ceremony for the New Deputy Fire Chief Lionel Montalvo (7.28.2017) (Photo: Ryan Piros)

Capt. Guy Danley. Photo courtesy County of Maui.

Make the most of your Maui vacation with these top-rated activities: Maui Top 20: Maui Visitor & Tourism Information
E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments