Maui News

Maui Resident Receives Judiciary’s Highest Award

Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Denise Villanova, court administrator of the Second Circuit Court’s Court & Operational Support Services Branch, has received the Judiciary’s highest honor: the Distinguished Service Award. She was recognized for her contributions to the people of Hawaiʻi at the Second Circuit Court’s Employee Awards Ceremony on October 25.

Denise Villanova, court administrator of the Second Circuit Court’s Court & Operational Support Services Branch, is congratulated by Judiciary administrators and family as she receives the 2019 Distinguished Service Award. Back row left: Administrative Director of the Courts Rodney A. Maile, Hawaiʻi Supreme Court Chief Justice Mark E. Recktenwald, Second Circuit Chief Judge Joseph E. Cardoza (ret.), Roy Villanova, Michael Kimura, Debbie Hirata, and Second Circuit Chief Court Administrator Sandy S. Kozaki. Front row left: Denise Villanova, Kristi Kimura, Judy Kimura, Dayna Pacheco, Harley Pacheco, Kealii Pacheco, Second Circuit Chief Judge Richard Bissen.

This award is bestowed annually to employees who have made an outstanding or exceptional contribution to improve the efficiency and operations of the Judiciary in service to the public.

“Denise Villanova has improved court operations in a variety of roles since 1983,” said Second Circuit Chief Judge Richard Bissen. “She has served as an executive subject matter expert for the Judiciary Information Management Traffic Module, Oracle, Criminal Module, In-Court Processing Module, eReminder, and eBench Warrant projects. Denise facilitated these implementations through her involvement in system and work flow design, training, and interacting with the public and other criminal justice partners. Her contributions have enhanced the standardization of practices between the Circuits and improved efficiency within the Judiciary.”

The Judiciary also recognized Chief Judge Joseph E. Cardoza (ret.), Kim Cuadro, and Gwyn Matsuda for 35 years of service to the state; Clayton Ogi (30 years); Grace Ganio-Marzan and Dorothea Ripani (25 years); and Joselin Barbosa, Rashawyn DeFrancia, Craig Hirayasu, Sheri Matsumoto, Terri-Ann Ortiz, and Charlene Pinheiro (20 years).



Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.
Make the most of your Maui vacation with these top-rated activities: Maui Top 20: Maui Visitor & Tourism Information


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments