Maui News

Tyler Wright Wins Maui Pro; John John Florence Wins Pipe Masters

Listen to this Article
3 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Tyler Wright. PHOTO: © WSL / Keoki SOCIAL : @wsl @photokeoki.

In a historic day for surfing, Tyler Wright of Australia won the Maui Pro presented by ROXY, the first women’s World Surf League Championship Tour competition to ever take place at the legendary Banzai Pipeline on Oʻahu’s North Shore.

The Maui event was moved to Oʻahu after a fatal shark bite incident at Honolua Bay on Tuesday, Dec. 8 involving a recreational surfer.

“I feel incredibly lucky to be here,” said Wright. “I think we wouldn’t be here without the women that came before us to pave the way, and today we are really standing on the shoulders of giants. I feel incredibly privileged to be here in the position that I am in.”

Wright secured her 14th CT win on Sunday after defeating Moore in the Finals and Fitzgibbons in the Semifinals.

Two-time WSL Champion Wright made history alongside four-time WSL Champion Carissa Moore (HAW), Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA), Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) and Sage Erickson (USA) after competing in the first-ever women’s CT Finals Day at the world-renowned Banzai Pipeline.


Meantime, Haleʻiwa native John John Florence of Hawaiʻi won the Billabong Pipe Masters presented by Hydro Flask for the first time at his home break.

John John Florence. PHOTO: © WSL / Heff SOCIAL : @wsl @tony_heff.

In the men’s Final for the Billabong Pipe Masters, two-time World Champion John John Florence (HAW) went head-to-head with another two-time World Champion Gabriel Medina (BRA), beating him out by 0.67 points with a combined score of 11.77.

“I feel really good, especially just after the last couple years and everything I’ve gone through with injuries and everything,” said Florence. “To be here at the first event of the year, winning in my home break, I can’t picture it going any better. It’s an amazing way to end 2020 and start the new year as well.”

Florence’s victory marks his first win at the Billabong Pipe Masters presented by Hydro Flask. He was the runner-up in 2017 and 2013, and did not compete in 2018 due to an injury that kept him out for much of the CT. 

The Road to The WSL Finals


The Road to The WSL Finals has officially started in Hawaii. For the first time, the men’s and women’s World Titles will be decided in a single-day event, ‘The WSL Finals’. The top five women and top five men following the CT season will battle for their respective titles in a new surf-off format at one of the world’s best waves. The WSL Finals will take place at the world-renowned surf break of Lower Trestles, California from September 8-17, 2021.

The opening leg of the Championship Tour will resume in January at the Sunset Open from January 19-28, 2021.

Maui Pro presented by ROXY Final Results:

1 – Tyler Wright (AUS) 8.34

2 – Carissa Moore (HAW) 7.23


Maui Pro presented by ROXY Semifinal Results:

SF 1: Tyler Wright (AUS) 10.50 DEF. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 2.87

SF 2: Carissa Moore (HAW) 16.60 DEF. Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) 2.47

Billabong Pipe Masters presented by Hydro Flask Final Results:

1 – John John Florence (HAW) 11.77

2 – Gabriel Medina (BRA) 11.10

More at


Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments